Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Ross Martin Wins at TST!
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted March 19, 2001 12:25 AM UIN: 16262997
Ross Martin Wins at TST!

Talladega, AL-The Kilpatrick Chevrolet Super Late Model division saw Talladega's "Rim Riding" Ross Martin set fast time with a near track record during Pole Qualifying with a 13.69-second lap on the 3/10's mile high banked clay oval. That is a new modern day D-55 track record. Overall track record is a 13.67 open tire run by Ted Lackey. Many expect a new track record will be established in the coming weeks.

Ross Martin went flag to flag in his GRT to claim the 30-lap main event in the Super Late Model division and he was followed across the finish line by Greg Skinner, Ted Lackey, Tim Roszell, and “The Boaz Bullet” Tim Busha.

Leed’s Richard Ogle topped a super strong field of 30 Gateway Restaurant Sportsman for another victory for “The Iceman”. Ogle also in a GRT and Ross Martin's stable mate, was followed by “Mr. Excitement” Ricky Stinson back after a lengthy absence from TST, Gadsden’s Kevin Tallant, RD Smith, and Greg Noah. The extremely large field of car required a B-Main to be run for the Sportsman as well.

Piedmont, AL's “Mean” Gene Mince put his IMCA Modified in victory lane over another big field of Clausen Gulf Coast Region IMCA Modifieds. Following Mince across the stripe was Southside's Kevin Waddell, Jamey Gowers, Jeff Harry, and Bama Bash Champion Eddie Brannon.

Winning the IMCA Stock Car Main Event was Steve Forsythe of Anniston, Al. Forsythe was followed by Jeremy Hurst, James Layfield, Tommy Shelnut, and Adam Cummings. The Pony Stock feature was won by Jonathan Chapman, Allan Glaze, Brian Burtram, and Brian Dodgen. Dwayne Quick won the Thunder Truck Main and the team of Meharg and King were the Cruiser victors.

Please visit or call the TST event hot line at 256-831-1413 for upcoming events. TST will host a Full Racing Program Saturday night March 24th.

Back to the Archives