Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted March 18, 2001 11:43 PM UIN: 16262997

HAGERSTOWN, MD - Two-time defending champion Roy Deese Jr. of Odenton served
notice that he was ready to defend the track title by winning the Grand
Opening 25-lap ITSI late model feature Sunday afternoon at the Hagerstown
Speedway. Deese quickly blasted his way to the front from his fourth starting
position coming off of the second turn to take the lead and then held off DJ
Myers for the win.

"I like to thank MastersBilt Race Cars because I made a move there in the
beginning no other car could have made," said Deese in Victory Lane. "The car
was a little loose in the beginning, but we set the car up anticipating that
the track would tighten up. I was a little worried about DJ when I saw the
No. 70 on the scoreboard and I wasn't sure we had the right set-up, but it
worked out for us."

Defending Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic late model sportsman champion Marvin
Winters of Mercersburg, PA picked up where he left off last year by picking
off the win from Paul Crowl in the 20-lap feature, Bruce Leibowitz of
Reisterstown held off Mike Warrenfeltz in the 15-lap Ernie's Salvage Yard
pure stocks feature for his first career win and Josh Angle of Stateline, PA
scored his first Hagerstown win in the 10-lap 4-cyl pure stock main event.

In the late model feature, Deese started fourth, but quickly broke down
to the inside going into the first turn to slip past Luke Hoffner and Jim
Bernheisel to take the lead coming off the second turn. Gary Stuhler moved
into second by the second lap with Rodney Franklin using the outside to
advance to third from eighth. While the top three cars were running
nose-to-tail, DJ Myers found the outside groove to his liking and worked his
way into fourth from his 11th starting spot by the third lap. A lap later,
Myers went to the outside again to take third from Franklin and started to
close in on Stuhler. On lap seven, Myers slipped by Stuhler for second right
before the caution was waved for Terry Neitz and Kenny Shipley putting Myers
on Deese's bumper for the restart. For the next eight laps, Myers was right
on the back of Deese waiting for the leader to make the wrong move. But Deese
got stronger towards the end and pulled away to a five car length win.
Following Deese and Myers were Stuhler, Franklin and Andy Friese. Bernheisel
was next with 19th starting Frankie Plessinger and 20th starting Charlie
Schaffer next across the line. John Mason and Andy Anderson finished out the
top ten. K&J Toys of Chambersburg Mall heat winners for the 46 late models
were Friese, Doug Burkholder, Deese and Stuhler. Richard Irwin and Tim Wilson
won the consolations.

Paul Crowl set the early pace from the outside pole in the late model
sportsman feature as Marvin Winters started back in sixth. Winters worked his
way past Wayne Walls Jr. for third on the sixth lap right before the caution
was waved fro Ryan Donley. On the restart, Winters quickly slipped underneath
of Mike Yeakle for second and began to work on Crowl for the lead. On lap 16,
Crowl slipped high enough going into to the second turn to give Winters the
break he needed to take the lead. Once in front, Winters cruise to a 10
car-length win.

Walls grabbed second from Crowl with two laps remaining to finish in the
runner-up spot as Crowl settled for third. Mike Walls was fourth with Richard
Walls fifth. Ryan Donley, Scott Palmer, Yeakle, Richard Clipp and Scott Sipe
rounded out the top ten. Winters won the only qualifying heat for the 11 cars.

Brice Leibowitz gunned his car out to the front from the outside pole at
the drop of the green with Mike Warrenfeltz right behind. Kim Ramer joined
the chase as the top three cars pulled away from the rest of the field.
Several times Warrenfeltz pulled even with Leibowitz only to have the leader
pull back in front. On the final lap, Warrenfeltz made one last try at the
lead only to have his right from tire go flat allowing Leibowitz to get away
for his first career win. Ramer grabbed second while Warrenfeltz was able to
hold on for third. Hans Stamberg and Denny Saunders rounded out the top five.
Heat winners for the 18 cars were Warrenfeltz and Ramer.

Josh Angle started on the pole in the 4-cyl feature and led every lap to
score his first career win at Hagerstown. Marcus VanMeter came back from an
opening lap wreck to finish second with Dean Holmes, Greg Gunter and Eric
Mellott making up the top five. There was not any qualifying heats for the 16

Next week, the small block modifieds and the dwarf cars join the late
models in a triple header program starting at 1:30 P.M. Gates will open at
11 A.M. The late models and modifieds will compete in 30-lap $2,000-to-win
feature events with the small block winner receiving a guaranteed starting
spot in the Octoberfest 350.

Late Models" (Heat 1) 1. Andy Friese; 2. Jim Bernheisel; 3. Devin Friese; 4.
DJ Myers; 5. Gerald Davis. (Heat 2) 1. Doug Burkholder; 2. Luke Hoffner; 3.
Ronnie DeHaven; 4. Eric Hons; 5. Wesley Bonebrake. (Heat 3) 1. Roy Deese Jr.;
2. John Mason; 3. Ray Kable Jr.; 4. Drew Koteles; 5. Frankie Plessinger.
(Heat 4) 1. Gary Stuhler; 2. Rodney Franklin; 3. Buck Tomblin; 4. Andy
Anderson; 5. Charlie Schaffer. (Consi# 1) 1. Richard Irwin; 2. Mark Elksnis;
3. Terry Neitz. (Consi #2) 1. Tim Wilson; 2. Jeremy Miller; 3. Rick Workman;
4. Kenny Shipley. DNQ: Alan Sagi; Shane Beagle; Wayne Johnson; Scott Lupfer;
Mike Lupfer; Mike Christopher; Dan Stone; Marry Wright; Billy Wamper; Doug
Eaton; Bob Gorton; Bobby Stokes; Donnie Farlling; Sonny Williamson; Jeff
Bryner; Harold Dorsey; Mike Blose; Cheryl Britskey.

25-LAP FEATURE: 1. Deese; 2. Myers; 3. Stuhler; 4. Franklin; 5. Fries; 6.
Bernheisel; 7. Plessinger; 8. Schaffer; 9. Mason; 10. Anderson; 11.
Bonebrake; 12. Tomblin; 13. Burkholder; 14. Hons; 15. Workman; 16. Irwin; 17.
Elksnis; 18. Miller; 19. Wilson; 20. Hoffner; 21. Neitz; 22. Shipley; 23.
DeHaven; 24. Friese; 25. Koteles; 26. Davis.

20-LAP LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN FEATURE. 1. Marvin Winters; 2. Wayne Walls Jr.;
3. Paul Crowl; 4. Mike Walls; 5. Richard Walls; 6. Ryan Donley; 7. Scott
Palmer; 8. Mike Yeakle; 9. Richard Clipp; 10. Scott Sipe. DNS: Dave Rice Jr.

15-LAP ERNIE'S SALVAGE YARD PURE STOCKS: 1. Bruce Leibowitz; 2. Kim Ramer; 3.
Mike Warrenfeltz; 4. Hans Stamberg; 5. Denny Saunders; 6. Steve Kent Jr.; 7.
Eugene Conley; 8. Dave Mikilajski; 9. Frank Dibella; 10 Steve Lowery; 11.
Greg Hockensmith; 12. Country Prince; 13. Wayne Hawbaker; 14. Brian Miller.
DNS: Bennett; Racine; Shoemaker; Long.

Back to the Archives