Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duncan made a Slam Dunk and Scored the SUPR win
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted March 17, 2001 11:24 AM UIN: 16262997
Duncan made a Slam Dunk and Scored the SUPR win
Baton Rouge Raceway
March 16, 2001, Sue DuRoy
31 late models were evenly divided into 5 heats. First heat Rodney Wing
wasted no time getting the lead. Yellow flew on 2 laps when Sam Patrick spun
into the front wall. Wing went on to score the first heat win by half a
track. Jay Blair scored heat two. Lonnie Covington took heat three. Marlon
Wild made it look easy and took the fourth heat win. Rob Litton won heat five
by half the track. Curt Lipsey led early on in the first of two last chance
races, till Ryan Plaisance took the lead from Lipsey and went on to take the
win. Chris Wall blasted into the lead in the second last chance race and went
on to score that win.
Rob Litton and Dennis Duncan drag raced till Duncan pulled into the lead
by turn two .Followed by Litton and Blair. Fourth place Wing lost it in two
and dropped back to seventh. 5 laps in Duncan smoking and fire under the car
lost the lead to Litton. Marlon Wild moved up to third. 12 laps in the
leaders are in lap traffic. 13 laps in Dave Siegert slowed on the back and
Duncan nailed him sending him flying off the back the track. Rob Litton
sailed in and out of traffic in the lead till lap 36 when Duncan took over
the lead and held it till the checkered scoring the win followed by Rob
Litton, Jay Blair, Marlon Wild, Rodney Wing, Bubba Mullins, Lonnie Covington,
Kenny Merchant, Dedywdler,Otis Green, Chris Wall, Dave Siegert, Kennith
Crowe, Bill Gordon, Larry Riter, Jason Polite, Seavy Clemons, Donald Watson,
Michael Coleman, Ryan Plaisance, David Knight, David Ashley, Randy Blanchard
and Curt Lipsey. Dave Siegert was the hard charger starting 20th and
finishing 12th.
Jamie Johnson, Bobby Helmer and Joel Couvillon all shared heat wins for
the UMP Modified. Couvillon blasted into the lead and Helmer ran second. The
entire race Helmer chased Couvillon, but couldn't get him. Couvillon took his
first feature win at Baton Rouge Raceway followed by Bobby Helmer. Gregg
Hollingsworth ran third the whole race and finished there. Chris Cassano took
fourth and Dale Aucoin fifth.
Kerry Vicknair took all the marbles home winning heat and feature in
street stock. Jason Wilks ran second the whole way. Charles Sweets ran third
till the final laps when Scooter Paetz took third from Sweets dropping him to
fourth. Randy Jamison rounded out the top five.
Billy Mitchel, Darrel Guy, and Mike Crowe all took heat wins for pure
stock. Guy led every lap from green to checkered. Behind him they shifted
positions and had numerous cautions. When the smoke cleared and the checkered
waved it was Guy, Joseph Law, Billy Mitchel, Tyndel Dean and Tim Moran.
Scotty Covington and Scott Pierce took the heat wins for mini stock.
When the green flag waved in the air it was Covington into the lead. Elvis
Turbville's followed in second but as the laps went by Turbville could only
watch as Covington's Ford put several car lengths between him and Turbville's
Chevy Vega. Covington went to the winners circle followed by Turbville, BJ
Watts, Larry Clayton and Joey King.

Back to the Archives