Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted March 11, 2001 08:15 PM UIN: 16262997

Mechanicsburg, PA, 3/11/01 - History was made once again at Williams Grove
Speedway Sunday afternoon as Sinking Spring's Donnie Kreitz Jr. became the
all-time leading feature winner at the historic half-mile in picking up the
season-opening win in the 25 lap super sprint feature.
Kreitz, the master the of the dry-slick racing surface, along with trusted
wrench Davey Brown, proved that on the road to the Williams Grove
Championship - they will be a force to be dealt with.
Kreitz, who started third, passed race-long leader Lance Dewease of Mont
Alto on the 17th lap and then easily led the rest of the way to pick up his
all-time winning 45 career win at the Grove.
"I was hard for even me to mess that one up," Kreitz was quick to point out
in a chilly victory lane.. "Davey (Brown) had this car so good...we were so
messed up before the race started between me and him."
"We didn't know what tire to put on, shocks, and bars, and
gear...everything was just a guess and I'll tell you what - he hit it good.
He's got so much more experience than me. We actually went a little on the
conservative side. If we would have did what I wanted to do we would have
been messed up."
"He (Davey Brown) is the common denominator. No matter who he helps he
makes them winners. He gives you the whole package. Our motors are running
great and he's the best chassis guy in setting the car up. We're lucky to
have him."
Outside frontrow starter Dewease grabbed the lead over polesitter Todd
Shaffer at the drop of the green and appeared to have the race well in hand.
But by the time the race's first caution waved on the eighth lap for Greg
Hodnett, whom had a broken front wheel and came to a stop on the
backstretch, the third-starting Kreitz had moved into second.
It was obvious that the racing surface was in favor of the low-riding
Kreitz as Dewease tried to block his every move following the restart. But
Kreitz just waited for the opportunty for the veeteran Dewease to open the
door, and his patience paid off on the 17th lap as Kreitz rolled around the
top-side of turns three and for to pull ahead of Dewease at the exit.
The race's final caution waved on the 22nd lap as Todd Gracey's sprinter
let fluids loose all around the racetrack, setting up a three-lap dash to
the checkered.
But Kreitz was unstoppable as he pulled away to a 2.90 second victory after
25 lap and pocketed the $3,000 winner check.
Four-time defending Grove champion Fred Rahmer, who is seeking a
record-tying fifth consecutive track title, came on strong in the final
turns to steal second away from Dewease who was forced to settle for third.
Mifflintown's Keith Kauffman finished fourth and Allentown's Sean Michael
was fifith.
Completing the top-10 was Hanover's Cris Eash in sixth, Newtown's Len
Thompson seventh, Australian invader Skip Jackson; eighth, Ohio invader
Rodney Duncan ninth, and Carlisle's Shawn Keen tenth.
Heats for the 36 super sprints on hand were won by Johnny Mackison Jr.,
Hodnett, Dewease, and Kauffman. Twin consolation events were won by Duncan
and Keen.

Harrisburg's Chad Layton that he too is a force to be recconded with this
season as he over-powered the field in the 20 lap 358 sprint feature.
Layton, who started a distant 17th after being forced to qualify through
the consolation race, tracked down York's Adrian Shaffer to take the lead on
the ninth lap and easily led the rest of the way way for the win.
Defending KARS Limited Sprint champion Dale Hammaker finished second, with
a sputtering Shaffer holding on for third.
Kevin Drury and Billy Dietrich finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Sunday - March 11, 2001
Mechanicsburg, PA
Super Sprints:
Feature (25 Laps) - 1. 69-Donnie Kreitz Jr. ($3,000); 2. 77-Fred Rahmer; 3.
88H-Lance Dewease; 4. 7-Keith Kauffman; 5. 1-Sean Michael; 6. 17-Cris Eash;
7. 10-Len Thompson; 8. 53K-Skip Jackson; 9. 22-Rodney Duncan; 10. 53-Shawn
Keen; 11. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 12. 29-Dave Ely; 13. 11-Mike Erdley; 14.
22M-Mark Smith; 15. 07-Jesse Wentz; 16. 10N-Chris Knopp; 17. 81-Bob
Beidleman; 18. 88-Todd Shaffer; 19. 55-Mike Wagner; 20. 25-Todd Gracey; 21.
7M-Todd Hestor; 22. 97-Phil Gressman; 23. 12-Greg Hodnett; 24. 3B-Bob
Bennett. No Time
Lap Leaders - Lance Dewease (1-16), Donnie Kreitz Jr. (17-25)
Heat Winners - Johnny Mackison Jr., Greg Hodnett, Lance Dewease, Keith
Consolation Winners - Rodney Duncan, Shawn Keen

358 Sprints:
Feature (20 Laps) - 1. U1-Chad Layton; 2. 66H-Dale Hammaker; 3. 21-Adrian
Shaffer; 4. 31D-Kevin Drury; 5. 8D-Billy Dietrich; 6. 8-Rich Eichelberger;
7. 88-Scott Ausherman; 8. 87-Alan Krimes; 9. 77-Wade Hendrickson; 10.
11T-T.J. Stutts; 11. 3-Dan Massey; 12. 4B-Jake Raudabaugh; 13. 80-Todd Reed;
14. 119-Greg Leiby; 15. 71-Joe Whitcomb; 16. 56V-Tim Hershey; 17. 50-Mark
Richard; 18. 2A0Carmen Perigo Jr.; 19. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 20. 33-Billy
Albright; 21. 11C-Cory Haas; 22. 51-Gary Gollub; 23. 19R-Steve Wilbur; 24.
8H-Dan Dietrich. No Time
Lap Leaders - Alan Krimes (1-4), Adrian Shaffer (5-8), Chad Layton (9-20)
Heat Winners - Greg Leiby, Eric Stambaugh, Joe Whitcomb, Billy Albright
Consolation Winners - Chad Layton, Caren Perigo Jr.

Back to the Archives