Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   March 9, Season Opener at North Alabama Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted March 10, 2001 02:37 PM UIN: 16262997
March 9, Season Opener at North Alabama Speedway
Kansas City, Kansas is some 700 miles from North Alabama Speedway, but that didn’t deter "Open Wheel Ace" Joey Kates as the Jayhawker rolled into NAS then ran second in his first event ever(heat race) at North Alabama Speedway. If you still weren’t impressed, how about a wire to wire victory in the 20 lap Open Wheel main event, topping Memphis racer, Terry Grambling and Milan, Tennessee’s Brandon Maxwell. Scotty Gowers of Talledaga, Alabama finished fourth while Shane Stephens of Arlington, Tennessee was 5th. Northport, Alabama’s Tim Parker, a multi feature winner at NAS in 2000, experienced mechanical problems and exited on Lap 6.
Last season’s Late Model points runner-up, Chris Ragan, served notice that he may well be the man to beat in 2000 by setting fast time then winning the feature event. Going back to last season, Ragan, driving the Danny Kidde owned 2DX, won his 3rd main event in the last 5 races at NAS. Duck River(TN) Speedway points runner-up in 2000, Dwayne Oakley kept some pressure on the high flying Ragan but settled for second spot ahead of defending Champ, Jerry Jackson. After a disappointing time trial effort, Brandon King came from row 4 to wrestle the fourth spot from Nolan Smith on lap 19, then lost the position back to Nolan on lap 20 only to finally settle the matter on lap 21 and take the fourth spot. Smith finished 5th.
Renegade Roger Brewer held off heat winner Michael Horton for the win in Renegade feature event. Booneville, Mississippi’s, Dexter Rogers was third in front of Doug Cross and Jeff Wilson. Horton was the heat race winner.
Bobbie Joe Robinson held off a furious charge from Fayetteville, Tennessee’s Shaw Mitchell to win the Street Stock Main Event. New Market, Alabama’s Philip Holder kept the pressure on the leaders throughout the main event but settled for the third position. Melvin Harrell and Robert Scott were 4th and 5th. Holder and Robinson were the heat race victors.
In Mini Stock action, Shane Parker slipped by early leader, Robert Holder then fought back the charge of Eugene Kilow to nab the win. Kilow took the place position while Cotton James garnered the show spot. Keith Holden was fourth and early leader, Robert Holden finished 5th.
Racing continues every Friday night through October, with the "Alabama Music Hall of Fame" event on tap for this coming Friday night, March 16.

Late Model Renegade
1) Chris Ragan 1) Roger Brewer
2) Dwayne Oakley 2) Michael Horton
3) Jerry Jackson 3) Dexter Rogers
4) Brandon King 4) Doug Cross
5) Nolan Smith 5) Jeff Wilson

Open Wheel Street Stocks
1) Joey Kates 1) Bobbie Joe Robinson
2) Terry Grambling 2) Shawn Mitchell
3) Brandon Maxwell 3) Philip Holder
4) Scotty Gowers 4) Melvin Harrell
5) Shane Stephens 5) Robert Scott

Mini Stocks
1) Shane Parker
2) Eugene Kilow
3) Cotton James
4) Keith Holden
5) Robert Holden

Back to the Archives