Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   "NIGHT OF 1000 STARS" AUGUST 8 AT BRITT
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted July 24, 2002 07:42 AM UIN: 16262997

The eighth annual Harris Auto Racing's "Night of 1000 Stars" racing
extravaganza will light up the sky and the track on Thursday August 8 in
Britt. The very best modified drivers in the mid-west will be on hand to
start off the first night of the two-day Hobo Day event at the Hancock
County Speedway.

The IMCA modified drivers will be competing for $2000 to win, plus another
$1000 for the "Challenge" if the dash winner wants to start in the back of
the feature and wins. $900 in lap money, plus contingencies posted by Harris
Auto Racing and IMCA Special event sponsors. Mod qualifiers are guaranteed
$200 to start the A feature and non qualifiers receive $100.

Johnny "The Jet" Saathoff is the defending 2001 "Stars" champion. John
Logue of Boone won the 1995 Grand Opening Friday night event and was the
1997,1998, and 2000 "Stars" show winner. Ron Jones took the 1995 Thursday
"Stars" event and Kelly Shryock was the winner in 1996. Kevin Stoa of Polk
City won the 1999 event.

The Limited 360 modified class will be competing for $500. to win $80 to
start feature. Hobby Stocks will compete for $250 to win and $40 to start
feature. Both of these classes will be non-sanctioned. Draw for heats and
redraw for feature position in each class.

Pit gates will open at 4:30 PM. Draw closes at 6:30. Hot Laps 7:00. Races
7:30. Pit pass is $20. Grandstand admission is Adults-$12. 6-12-$5. 5 &
Under FREE.

Early entry fee for the modified class is $75 and must be postmarked by Aug
1. Entry fee after Aug 1 is $100. Entry fee for the Limited mod class is
$25 postmarked by Aug. 1 and $50 after Aug. 1. No entry fee for the hobby
stock class.

The action will be right back here on the track on Friday, August 9 for the
"Big Bud Shootout" for Stock Car qualifiers sponsored by Kabrick
Distributing of Britt. This will be a $1000 to win event with a total purse
of $3000. Qualifiers must have won or placed second in a dash at Britt in
the 2002 season and they must have raced at the track at least four times
before the "Shootout". The "Shootout" will be the last event of the night.

Those drivers qualified for the "Shootout" are: Todd Foster, Jeff Dolphin,
Rob Hughes, Jim Mitchell, Roger Tripp, Travis Hoeft, John Pletcher, John
Campbell, Mark Elliott, Kim Schleuger, Kevin Hoeft, Dave Kuykendall.

The IMCA stock cars will be competing for $400 to win their feature on
Friday, and the Hobby stock and Limited 360 mods will take $200 as the top
prize in their events. The modified feature will pay $500 to win. Econo
stocks top prize is $100.

Pit gates open at 5:30. No entry fee in any class for the Friday show. Pit
pass $15. Grandstand admission: Adults-$10. 6-12 Years-$3. 5 & Under FREE.
Hot laps 7:00 Races 7:30. For more information call the track: 641-843-4513
Office: 515-295-7422. Keep up with current weather conditions in the Britt
area and any updates on this event at our web site Email
your questions to:

The Hancock County Speedway is located one half mile south east of Britt at
the Hancock County Fairgrounds. The track is a four tenth mile track with 15
degree banking in the corners.

Back to the Archives