Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   34 Raceway hosts first of four April dates in Deery Series
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 01, 2002 10:36 AM UIN: 16262997
34 Raceway hosts first of four April dates in Deery Series
VINTON, Iowa (April 1) - With the earliest opener successfully in the record book, the Deery Brothers Summer Series starts an ambitious April schedule this Saturday night.
I.M.C.A. Sunoco Late Models following the 16th annual tour are headed next to 34 Raceway at West Burlington for the April 6 show. Pit gates open at 4 p.m., with hot laps at 6:30 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m.
The race is the first of three series dates this season at 34, and will be the 27th held there since the series was started in 1987. Seventeen different drivers have won Deery events at West Burlington, paced by defending series champion Mark Burgtorf with four checkers.
Curt Martin and Jeff Aikey each have won there three times; Jay Johnson and Mike Smith are double winners. John-son took the checkers in the first-ever series race, held at 34 on April 11, 1987.
Quincy, Ill., Raceway hosts the Sunday, April 14 Deery event. Pits open at 4:30 p.m., with 6 p.m. hot laps and 7 p.m. racing in what will be the first of three series races at Quincy.
Next up is the first doubleheader of the season, on Friday, April 19 at Davenport Speedway, and Saturday, April 20 at Jackson County Speedway in Maquoketa.
At Davenport, gates to the pit area open at 4:30 p.m., hot laps are at 6 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m. Jackson County, which hosted its one previous Deery event in 1997, sees pit gates opening at 4 p.m., hot laps at 6 p.m. and racing at 6:30 p.m.
Aikey won the first race of the series season, on March 30 at Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City.

Back to the Archives