Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 14, 2001 05:51 AM UIN: 16262997

Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas - September 13 - 16, 2001

Four of the leading auto racing series in the United States will compete at Texas Motor Speedway and Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track Sept. 13 - 16 during RPM Week - Texas. Last week's results for each follow.

Indy Racing Northern Light Series - Chevy 500, Sunday, September 16, 2001
Results: Kentucky Speedway, Sparta, Ken., Sunday, August 12
1. Buddy Lazier, 2. Scott Sharp, 3. Sam Hornish Jr., 4. Al Unser Jr., 5. Donnie Beechler.
Buddy Lazier became the first driver in Indy Racing history to win four races in a season as he withstood several challenges to win the Belterra Casino Indy 300. Lazier's victory cut Sam Hornish Jr.'s lead in the Indy Racing Northern Light Series to 25 points with three events remaining. Lazier defeated Sharp by 1.5822 seconds after a late-race battle with Robbie Buhl who ran out of fuel with one lap remaining.

NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series - Silverado 350, Saturday, September 15, 2001
Results: Nashville Superspeedway, Nashville, Tenn., Friday Night, August 10
1. Scott Riggs, 2. Ted Musgrave, 3. Rick Crawford, 4. Joe Ruttman, 5. Travis Kvapil.
Scott Riggs captured his fourth victory of the season as he dominated the Federated Auto Parts 200. Riggs led 131 of the 150-lap distance and took the lead for good on the 103rd circuit around the 1.333-mile concrete speedway. Runnerup Ted Musgrave closed on Riggs in the final laps but finished 1.103 seconds behind ahead of Rick Crawford, the last truck on the lead lap. Ruttman has a 32-point lead over Riggs and is 43 ahead of former point leader Jack Sprague, who lost 11 laps at the start of the race with a broken coil wire.

Pennzoil World of Outlaws Sprint Cars - O'Reilly Texas Showdown, Fri. & Sat. Nights, September 14-15, 2001
Results: Knoxville Raceway, Knoxville, Iowa, Thursday-Saturday Nights, Aug. 8-11
1. Danny Lasoski, 2. Mark Kinser, 3. Joey Saldana, 4. Stevie Smith, 5. Terry McCarl.
Danny Lasoski won his second Amoco Ultimate Knoxville Nationals crown in four years Saturday night, carting home $125,000 for the 30-lap run around the Knoxville Raceway half-mile clay oval. Lasoski also won Wednesday night's preliminary feature and earned nearly $140,000 of the $750,000 plus purse in sprint car racing's most prestigious event. Mark Kinser held on to a 16-point lead over Lasoski in the Pennzoil WoO point standings by finishing second, worth $62,500. Joey Saldana collected $32,500 for third. Donny Schatz, winner of Thursday's preliminary feature and Friday's Kele & Associates World Challenge Dash, was involved in an opening-lap crash with Brad Furr after a left rear tire was peeled from the rim. Schatz was treated and released from a local hospital.

United Dirt Track Racing Association Pro DirtCar Series - Wolf Brand Chili Challenge, Thurs. Night, September 13, 2001
Results: Winnebago Co. Speedway, Pecatonica, Ill., Wednesday Night, August 8
1. Scott Bloomquist, 2. Steve Francis, 3. Jimmy Mars, 4. Rick Aukland, 5. Billy Moyer.
Scott Bloomquist took advantage of Rick Eckert's misfortune to capture Wednesday night's 50-lap UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series late model feature at the Winnebago Co. Speedway. Eckert suffered a broken ball joint while leading the 50-lap run around the half-mile dirt track on lap 24 and crashed, giving Bloomquist the lead he never relinquished. Bloomquist garnered $11,050 for the victory.

Results: Florence Speedway, Union, Ken., Saturday Night, August 11
1. Scott Bloomquist, 2. Bob Pierce, 3. Darrell Lanigan, 4. Steve Francis, 5. Freddy Smith.
Scott Bloomquist continued his "Drive for Five" (fifth UDTRA championship) with a wire-to-wire $21,050 victory in the Ironman 100 Saturday night at Florence Speedway. Bob Pierce closed on Bloomquist in the closing laps but had to settle for the runnerup spot. Steve Francis took the UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series point lead with his fourth-place finish, moving by 16th finisher Rick Eckert who has led the point list since February. Francis is seven markers ahead of Eckert and 123 in front of Bloomquist who won his 86th career UDTRA race.

Back to the Archives