Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   "NIGHT OF 1000 STARS" AUGUST 9 AT BRITT
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 30, 2001 04:47 PM UIN: 16262997

The seventh annual Harris Auto Racing's "Night of 1000 Stars" racing extravaganza will light up the sky and the track on Thursday August 9 in Britt. The very best drivers in the modified and stock divisions in the mid-west will be on hand to start off the first night of the two-day Hobo Day event at the Hancock County Speedway.

The IMCA modified drivers will be competing for $2000 to win, plus another $1000 for the "Challenge" if the dash winner wants to start in the back of the feature and wins. $900 in lap money, plus contingencies posted by Harris Auto Racing and IMCA Special event sponsors. This event is part of the IMCA National Modified Series and drivers will be competing for series point fund and contingencies.

John Logue of Boone is the defending 2000 “Stars” champion and also won the 1995 Grand Opening Friday night event and was the 1997 and 1998 "Stars" show winner. Ron Jones took the 1995 Thursday "Stars" event and Kelly Shryock was the winner in 1996. Kevin Stoa of Polk City won the 1999 event.

The Midwest Motorsports "Best of the Midwest Series" for IMCA Stock cars will be here fighting for the series points and money. The Stock feature pays $600 to win, plus series contingencies

The Limited 360 modified class will be competing for $ win. No track points in any class. Draw, redraw for position in each class.

Pit gates will open at 4:30PM. Draw closes at 6:30. Hot Laps 7:00. Races 7:30. Pit pass is $20. Grandstand admission is Adults-$10. 6-12-$5. 5 & Under FREE.

Early entry fee for the modified class is $50 and must be postmarked by Aug 1. Entry fee after Aug 1 is $75.
Stock car series entry is on race day only. Entry fee for the Limited mod class is $20 postmarked by Aug. 1 and $30 after Aug. 1

The action will be right back here on the track on Friday, August 10 for the "Big Bud Shootout" for Modified qualifiers sponsored by Kabrick Distributing of Britt. This will be a $1000 to win event with a total purse of $3000. Qualifiers must have won or placed second in a dash at Britt in the 2001 season and they must have raced at the track at least four times before the "Shootout". The "Shootout" will be the last event of the night.

Those drivers qualified for the “Shootout” are: John Logue, Mike Hejna, Kevin Stoa, Todd Stinehart, Al Hejna, Keith Schmitz, Jason Slegh, Jon Wood, Brad Bakken, Ron Houdek, Ron Pope, Scott Olson, Ryan Hiscocks.

The IMCA stock cars will be competing for $500 to win their feature on Friday, and the Hobby stock and Limited 360 mods will take $250 as the top prize in their events. The modified feature will pay $500 to win, plus the Modified Challenge. Econo stocks top prize is $100.

Pit gate opens at 5:00. No entry fee in any class for the Friday show. Pit pass $15. Grandstand admission: Adults-$10. 6-12 Years-$3. 5 & Under FREE. Hot laps 7:00 Races 7:30. For more information call the track: 641-843-4513 Office: 515-295-7422. Keep up with current weather conditions in the Britt area and any updates on this event at our web site Email your questions to:

The Hancock County Speedway is located one half mile south east of Britt at the Hancock County Fairgrounds.
The track is a four tenth mile track with 15 degree banking in the corners.

Back to the Archives