Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 24, 2001 10:45 PM UIN: 16262997

SHAWANO, WI - The United Dirt Track Racing Association Pro DirtCar Series
will make its first ever visit to Shawano Speedway on Monday night for the
$10,000-to-win Mohican North Star Casino 50. The top dirt late model
drivers in the country will take on several local favorites on the -mile
clay oval.

Rick Eckert of York, PA leads the UDTRA point standings by 132 points over
Steve Francis of Ashland, KY. Eckert has three wins with 14 top five
finishes after the first 22 races of the 2001 UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series
season. Francis is still looking for his first win, but has 20 top ten
finishes in 22 starts.

The defending and four-time UDTRA Champion Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg,
TN is fresh off his season-leading fourth win on Saturday night in the 3rd
Annual Masters 100 at Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, WI. Bloomquist
is third in the points chase, but he has a lot of ground to make up. Eckert
and Francis finished second and third respectively Saturday night.

Badger State driver Dan Schlieper of Pewaukee, WI moved into the fourth
spot in the points chase after Saturday night, and picked up his first win
of the season on Tuesday night in Davenport, IA. Schlieper is 162 points
behind Bloomquist. The 1997 UDTRA Champion Billy Moyer is fifth in the
point standings with one win. Moyer is just three points behind Schlieper.

Wendell Wallace of Batesville, AR is sixth in points with two wins on the
season. Wallace is 54 points behind Moyer. The 1999 UDTRA Champion Dale
McDowell of Rossville, GA is seventh, and is looking for his first win of
the season. McDowell is six points behind Wallace.

Jimmy Mars of Elk Mound, WI will be looking for his third win of the season
in his home state. Mars is eighth in the point standings 35 points behind
McDowell. The 1996 UDTRA Champion Freddy Smith of Knoxville, TN is ninth
the UDTRA points chase with one win, and he is 55 points behind Mars. Ray
Cook of Brasstown, NC rounds out the top ten just two points behind Smith.

The top 19 drivers in the UDTRA point standings are expected Monday night
at Shawano Speedway. The 11th through 15th place drivers respectively are
UDTRA Rookie of the Year point leader Joe Izzo of LaSalle, IL, Randy Korte
of Highland, IL, Shannon Babb of Decatur, IL, two-time 2001 UDTRA winner
Davey Johnson of Greensburg, PA, and Steve Boley of West Liberty, IA.

The 16th through 19th place drivers respectively are Rick Aukland of Fargo,
ND, Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA, UDTRA East Bay Winternationals winner
Steve Shave of Parkersburg, WV, and two-time 2001 UDTRA winner and defending
STARS Series Champion Chub Frank of Sugar Grove, PA.

Top Wisconsin drivers expected to take on the UDTRA regulars include Terry
Anvelink of Navarino, WI, Pete Parker of Kaukauna, WI, George and Russ
Scheffler of Waukesha, WI, Jayme Zidar of Greenfield, WI, Bret Sievert of
New Berlin, WI, Eric Pember of Pittsville, WI, Kerry Hansen of Spencer,
Chris Carlson of West Allis, WI and Ace Ihm of Hazel Green, WI.

On Monday, the pit gate opens at 3 p.m. and the grandstand gate opens at
p.m. UDTRA hot laps are scheduled for 6:30 p.m. to be followed by
qualifications, the Borla Performance Heat Races, the Renegade Transporters
and Polaris ATVs Consolation Races, and the $10,000-to-win Mohican North
Star Casino 50.

For ticket and race day information call (715) 526-5419. Shawano Speedway
is located just east of Shawano, WI on State Road 29.

Back to the Archives