Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 22, 2001 07:57 PM UIN: 16262997

NEW RICHMOND, WI - Cedar Lake Speedway will present the $20,000-to-win 3rd
Annual Masters 100 on Saturday night for the United Dirt Track Racing
Association Pro DirtCar Series. This is "The Run For The Wrap" with the
winner receiving the prestigious one-of-a kind black leather jacket.

The only two drivers to own one are 1999 winner Wendell Wallace of
Batesville, AR, and the defending champion Rick Aukland of Zanesville, OH,
who has two UDTRA Cedar Lake wins.

A format change will see the UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series competing in a one-day
show, but the Ohio-based STARS Series will run a preliminary event on Friday
night. That will bring the UDTRA regulars some tough competition from Chub
Frank of Sugar Grove, PA, and Mike Balzano of Parkersburg, WV. Frank has
won two UDTRA events this season, and Balzano has one.

Other past UDTRA winners at Cedar Lake Speedway include Skip Arp of
Georgetown, TN, the defending and four-time UDTRA Champion Scott Bloomquist
of Mooresburg, TN, Davey Johnson of Greensburg, PA, and Dan Schlieper of
Pewaukee, WI. Schlieper is fresh off his first win of the season on Tuesday
night in Davenport, IA.

Bloomquist is third in points with three wins this season, and Johnson has
two UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series victories this season.

Jimmy Mars of Elk Mound, WI could be a force to be dealt with at Cedar Lake,
as he returns to his home track with two UDTRA wins in his pocket this
season. Lance Mathees of Winona, MN is another hometown favorite with a
helmet full of UDTRA experience.

UDTRA point leader Rick Eckert of York, PA has three wins this season, and
is being chased for the point lead by Steve Francis of Ashland, KY who is
123 points behind Eckert.

Just 153 points separate third through tenth in the UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series
points chase. The 1997 UDTRA Champion Billy Moyer of Batesville, AR with
one win this season is fourth in the points chase, 89 points behind
Bloomquist. Schlieper is fifth in points, 30 points behind Moyer, and
Wallace is sixth, 40 points behind Schlieper.

The 1999 UDTRA Champion Dale McDowell of Rossville, GA is seventh in the
point standings, 40 points behind Wallace, and Mars is eighth, 22 points
behind McDowell. The 1996 UDTRA Champion Freddy Smith of Knoxville, TN
ninth 28 points behind Mars, and Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC rounds out the
top ten, just five points behind Smith.

Other expected entries for the Masters 100 include UDTRA Rookie of the Year
point leader Joe Izzo of LaSalle, IL, Randy Korte of Highland, IL, Steve
Shaver of Parkersburg, WV with one win this season, Steve Boley of West
Liberty, IA, and Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA.

The pit area and grandstand gates open at noon with hot laps scheduled for
6:30 p.m., followed by qualifications, Borla Performance heat races, the
Renegade and Polaris ATVs consolation races, and the 3rd Annual Masters
For ticket and race day information call (715) 248-7119.

Back to the Archives