Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 20, 2001 11:33 AM UIN: 16262997
Cajon Speedway Advance for May 26, 2001


1 Mike Mendenhall Santee 2 wins 303
2 Ron Overman Lakeside 1 win 270
3 Todd McLauchlan Alpine 265
4 Jerry Gay San Diego 189
5 Danny Gay Lakeside 175
6 John Manke Ramona 1 win 154
7 Jack Lee Vista 152
8 Dee Cable Santee 140
9 Wayne Morse Alpine 132
10 Ray Burns San Diego 120

1 Scott Brown Spring Valley 2 wins 131
2 Mike Salm Fallbrook 121
3 Ron Brown San Diego 107
4 Doug Carpenter La Mesa 97
5 Mike Jackson Bonita 87
6 Stan Perkins Spring Valley 80
7 Dave Williams Escondido 78
8 Carol Kirby Williams San Dgo 73
9 Paul Brunette Spring Valley 40
10 Billy Cable La Mesa 36

1 Rich Green Jr. El Cajon 289
2 Rick Hagen Alpine 261
3 Brian Collins Oceanside 203
4 Scott Holmberg San Diego 2 wins 202
5 Scott Moses Chula Vista 183
6 Rob Overman El Cajon 163
7 Charles Nevin El Cajon 158
8 Richard Hinze Lakeside 1 win 152
9 Neil Rodvold Lakeside 150
10 Dave Arce Santee 148

1 Ed Hale El Cajon 2 wins 345
2 Mike Weimann Temecula 270
3 Andy Papp La Mesa 268
4 Marty Schmidt El Cajon 228
5 Douglas Wright Jr. Rancho SD 1 win 225
6 Neil Rodvold Lakeside 166
7 George Behlman Santee 151
8 Kenny Hall Lakeside 148
9 Ken Wikoren El Cajon 1 win 141
10 Debi Urioste Poway 140

1 Bob Wickey Spring Valley 289
2 Mark Holland San Diego 284
3 Eric Seene Santee 230
4 Marty Lehrke San Diego 186
5 Greg McCown El Cajon 164
6 Chris Boyer San Diego 160
7 Scott Denton Fallbrook 154
8 Pat Garity El Cajon 2 wins 153
9 Joey Schneider Escondido 152
10 Randy Wallace El Cajon 1 win 147

EL CAJON, CA. Winning main events isn't always the best thing to do at Cajon
Speedway. That is true, especially if you are intent on winning a
championship on the 3/8 mile paved oval.
That has already been borne out at the Gillespie Field track. Rich Green
leads the street stock point standings despite being winless in the four
main events run so far this year. In fact none of the top three drivers,
Green, Rick Hagen, or Brian Collins, have found their way to victory lane in
one of Cajon's toughest divisions.
The trio will be looking to change that pattern this Saturday night when the
street stocks return to action at Cajon. They will be joining the late model
sportsman, pony stocks, bomber stocks, and mini-stockars in NASCAR Weekly
Racing Series action. Race time is 6:45 PM. Qualifying runs start at 5:15.
Practice will begin at 4:00.
The reason that Green, Hagen, and Collins are pacing the street stock point
standings despite being thwarted at the finish line is passing points. At
Cajon points are not just awarded for finishing positions. The top five
qualifiers in each division earn bonus points. And two points are awarded
for each car passed, based on a driver's original qualifying position and
his finishing position.
Typical was the street stock main event two weeks ago. Richard Hinze won
that event and earned 78 points. That broke down to 50 finishing points and
28 passing points. But Green, who finished third, got 46 points for his
finish, 5 for being the fastest qualifier, and 34 passing points. That gave
him 85 points for the night. That total was the most for any street stock
Meanwhile Scott Holmberg, who has won twice, got only 52 points two weeks
ago for finishing second. Holmberg is usually one of the division's slower
qualifiers and thus is not able to pick up very many of those valuable
passing points.
Green is not the only top runner at Cajon who has yet to take the checkered
flag in front. In the bombers, none of the top three drivers, Bob Wickey,
Mark Holland, and Eric Seene, has won. In fact, none of the top seven have
won. In the pony stocks Mike Weimann, Andy Papp, and Marty Schmidt, who sit
in the second through fourth spots in points also have not yet won. Ed Hale
leads those standings; he has won twice.
In the sportsman Mike Mendenhall and Ron Overman continue to set the pace.
Mendenhall has won twice and Overman once in Cajon's premier division. John
Manke scored his first career victory last Saturday night.

Back to the Archives