Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 09, 2001 06:27 PM UIN: 16262997

Steve Boley christened the Winnebago Co Fairgrounds Speedway in Pecatonica Illinois on Tuesday May 8th by sweeping his second Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout victory of the season in the first race held at the facility in over 20 years. Sixty-two of the nations best drivers signed in to challenge for the $6,000 top prize on the tricky square shaped half mile.

After dominating his heat and the Mountain Dew Fast Dash, Boley started the 50-lap event on the pole position ahead of Shannon Babb and Billy Moyer. Quickly jumping out to a comfortable lead while Moyer and Babb fought for the second position, Boley caught enough breaks with caution flags to stay clear of lapped traffic until mid-way through the race. Slower cars did tighten the frontrunners midway through the event, with Jeff Aikey joining the top group to make a four-car battle for the lead. The final caution of the event on lap 41 spoiled what was shaping up to be a dogfight for the checkers, as the leaders had just lapped the seventh place car of Don O’Neal and were facing the prospect of negotiating five more slower cars all fighting for position. Aikey swapped the third spot with Babb several times late in the race, but was forced back into the fourth spot on the final restart and was unable to complete another pass. Dan Schlieper overcame an early pit stop to finish fifth, ahead of Darren Miller, O’Neal, Brian Harris and Mitch Johnson.

Ace Ihm took home $1,000 for his efforts in the Non-Qualifiers Fast Dash, also jumping out from the pole position to lead every lap. Several drivers took their turn in the second spot with Jay Johnson initially giving chase until mechanical problems ended his evening, giving the spot to Gary Webb who pulled his car into the pits after hard contact with the turn three wall a few laps later. Matt Furman inherited the position to finish ahead of Scott Heeren, Darrall DeFrance and Dave Eckrich.

Modifieds were also on the card, with Ryan Dolan chasing down Ron Barker to take the victory. Mike Miller snuck around Barker on the last lap with Bob Dominacki and Josh Vinnedge rounding out the top five.

Racing action resumes at the Winnebago Co Fairgrounds Speedway on Tuesday June 12th with another Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout double-header. The next evening, Wednesday June 13th, all the drivers will move up the road to the Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway where Darren Miller will be defending his Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout victory from last season. For more information, contact Simmons Promotions INC at 563-744-3620 or online at

1. 26 Steve Boley West Liberty IA

2. 21 Billy Moyer Batesville AR

3. 18 Shannon Babb Decatur IL

4. 77 Jeff Aikey Cedar Falls IA

5. s9 Dan Schlieper Pewaukee WI

6. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL

7. 71 Don O’Neal Martinsville IN

8. 21h Brian Harris Davenport IA

9. 00 Mitch Johnson Hickson ND

10. 52 Steve Kosiski Omaha NE

11. 28 Dennis Erb Jr Carpentersville IL

12. 7b Mark Burgtoff Quincy IL

13. 41j Jeremiah Hurst Dubuque IA

14. 78 Rick Wendling Hazelton IA

15. c9 Steve Casebolt Richmond IN

16. 75 Billy Tuckwell Washington IL

17. 12 Ray Guss Jr Milan IL

18. 37b Troy Bruder Rock Falls IL

19. 14 Kyle Berck Marquette NE

20. 33 Kurt Stewart Ainsworth IA

21. 12n Terry Neal Ely IA

22. t2 Todd Bennett Peoria IL

23. 7c Jim Curry Norman IN

24. 15 Brian Birkhofer Muscatine IA

25. 88 Kevin Kile West Liberty IA

26. 52x Tim Lance Mapleton IL

1. 11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI

2. 51 Matt Furman Iowa City IA

3. 07 Scott Heeren Forreston IL

4. 99d Darrell DeFrance Marshaltown IA

5. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville IA

6. 54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon IA

7. 45 Curt Martin Independence IA

8. 87 Clint Hines Taylor Ridge IL

9. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass IA

10. 5 Jay Johnson West Burlington IA

3t Todd Davis Iowa City IA

3x Skip Frey Ely IA

57 Tim Hamburg Dixon IL

14 Jim Partipillo Elmhurst IL

50x Steve Morgan Freeport IL

13k Denny Petersen Tipton IA

b27 Bob Silaggi Freeport IL

95 Ed Sanger Postville IA
32j Jason Jaggers Wyanett IL

a1 Duke Whiseant Texarkana AR

27 Ed McGuire Monroe WI

50 Denny Eckrich Coralville IA

1m Rob Moss Iowa City IA

99 Johnny Johnson West Burlington IA

3 Brad Stewart Milledgeville IL

7 Frank Reaber Bensonville IL

33g Dan Galant Clinton IA

72 Terry Huizel Freeport IL

51x Mel Abels Freeport IL

23 Ted Loomis Kingston IL

40 Andrew Schooley Davenport IA

25 Steve Lance Sr Mapleton IL

9z Lyle Zanker Ingleswood IL

25 Marty Thompson Mineral IL

15x Ed Willaims Bartlett IL

1. 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon IA

2. 08 Mike Miller

3. 37b Ron Barker Dubuque IA

4. 5d Bob Dominacki Bettendorf IA

5. 00 Josh Vinnedge Forreston IL

6. 21 Scott Strohecker

7. 90 Mark Verbeck Annawan IL

8. 0 Tim Mauer

9. 10 Tim Ross

10. 111 Scott Holbert Freeport IL

11. d55 Scott Lemke Davis Junction IL

12. g1 Mike Garland Morrison IL

13. 92 Casey Schram

14. 10x Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI

15. 93.7 Ken Kostenbader

16. 337 Pat Gillespie

17. 00x Cory Hallahan Dubuque IA

18. 5 Mike Hill

19. 03 Chuck Turner

20. b1 Jeff Larson Freeport IL

21. 98 Rodney Vautsmeier

DNS 72 Rich Lewis Kewaupee IL

Back to the Archives