Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Texas Motor Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted March 30, 2001 08:01 AM UIN: 16262997
FORT WORTH-DALLAS (March 31, 2001) - Ken Schrader and Danny Lasoski, the leader in the current Pennzoil World of Outlaws sprint car point standings, will return Saturday night for the rescheduled Albertson's Spring Challenge race at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track. The event for the United Dirt Track Racing Association Pro DirtCar Series was postponed by rain Wednesday night.

NASCAR Winston Cup driver Tony Stewart was scheduled to compete in the Albertson's Spring Challenge but will be unable to race Saturday night due to team commitments with his NASCAR team. Thus Lasoski, who drives the J.D. Byrider/Hamm Compaction sprint car owned by Stewart on the World of Outlaws circuit, will move into Stewart's late model and compete in a car 1,000 pounds heavier than his sprint car. Winston Cup driver Schrader will participate on the eve of the Harrah's 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.

"We understand the situation Tony Stewart was in with his Winston Cup team commitments and not being able to drive in the Albertson's Spring Challenge," said Eddie Gossage, speedway general manager. "The fans will be in for a great treat in seeing Danny Lasoski and Ken Schrader challenge the best late model drivers in the country."

The UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series regular drivers will be led by four-time champion Scott Bloomquist, defending UDTRA race winner at Texas, Dan Schlieper, Arkansas' Billy Moyer and Wendall Wallace along with Freddy Smith, Donnie Moran and 1999 champion Dale McDowell. A total of 49 teams were ready to compete Wednesday when rain forced the postponement of the event.

Tickets for Saturday night's Albertson's Spring Challenge are available at the speedway ticket office, by calling (817) 215-8500, online at or at Ticketmaster locations.

Back to the Archives