Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Wing Takes Second Annual Mardi Gras Nationals.
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted February 24, 2001 01:43 PM UIN: 16262997
Wing Takes Second Annual Mardi Gras Nationals.
Sue DuRoy
Baton Rouge Raceway
February 23, 2001
Over 100 race cars filled the pits in the new shaped Baton Rouge raceway
for the second annual Mardi Gras Nationals.
39 late models divided into 6 heat races. Heat one Mike Boland blasted
into the lead and never looked back. As the checkered fell Boland had a whole
straightaway over second place Crowe. Heat two Dave Siegert started on the
pole and took the lead over Marlon Wild and Bubba Mullins battled it out
wheel to wheel for second. Siegert one by a straightaway. On the start of
heat three Rodney Wing and Dennis Duncan touched as they ran wheel to wheel
for the lead Duncan spun and brought out the yellow. On the second attempt at
a restart Dwight Falcon made contact with Wing, but Wing got away and went on
to score the win by a whole straightaway. Keith Craft led every lap of heat 4
and won by half the track. Heat five David Ashley got the lead from outside
the front row and won by a whole straightaway. Sixth and final heat Dewlyler
took the win by a straightaway also.
First Consolation race Rob Litton got away while Jay Blair had his hands
full trying to hold down second while Watson battled for it. Litton went on
to win. Bubba Mullins took off in the lead of the second consey. Yellow flew
when Michael Coleman left the back of the track and rolled several times
landing upside down. When the race continued Mullins took the win.
Mike Boland sat on the pole for the start of the 50 lap Late Model
feature. Boland blasted in to the lead. 2 laps in a spin from Bill Avant
brought out the first yellow. Eight laps into the race Boland was in lap
traffic. Boland led till lap 32 when he went in after suffering mechanical
problems. On the restart it was Wing. There was no catching Wing he sailed
around the oval the last 18 laps and took the win. followed by Dewyler,
Marlon Wild, Donald Watson, Ryan Plaisance, Dave Siegert, Kennith Crowe,
David Ashley, Trey Bean, Larry Riter, Jay Blair, Lee Davis, Odie Green,, Bill
Avant, Ryan Fontenot, Bill Gordon, Michael Coleman, Mike Boland, Kenny
Merchant, Bubba Mullins, Keith Craft, and Rob Litton.
Michael Blackard, Mark Hardwick and Jimmy Stephens won the three heat
races for pure stock. Blackard started from the pole and marched into the
lead. AS Blackard started to pull away Jimmy Stephens came with him on his
rear bumper lap after lap. Then Blackard went in the pits and Stephens took
over the lead. Stephen drove a flawless race and one could catch him,
Stephens cored the win followed by Mark Hardwick, Arnold, Joseph Law and
Bob Helmer, Shane Hebert and Dale Aucion all shared UMP heat wins.
Helmer from the pole blasted into the lead and led till lap James Ward
challenged him for the lead and took over as leader then Helmer got under
Ward they made contact and Helmer spun earning a trip to the rear. Ward ran
smooth lap after lap with Steve Ward in second trying to get him, but
couldn't. James Ward took the win followed by Steve Ward. Jamie LaPrairie
took third and Bobby Helmer worked his way all the way back to fourth, Cumbie
rounded out the top five.

Back to the Archives