Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   LINCOLN SPEEDWAY SET FOR NORTHEAST SEASON OPENER
jammin
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted February 18, 2001 05:52 PM UIN: 16262997
LINCOLN SPEEDWAY SET FOR NORTHEAST SEASON OPENER
Pigeon Hill's oval celebrates 48th year of racing action

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 2/18/01 - As long as mother nature co-operates, the stage
has been set to start Lincoln Speedway's 48th year of professional auto
racing on Lincoln Speedway Will Open this Saturday, February 24th @ 2 PM. After placing hundreds of tons
of new clay on the high-banked oval in the off-season, the Sel-Wil, Inc.
promotional team of Don and Bob Leiby and Alan Kreitzer are all ready to go
with the Northeast Season Opener featuring the sprint cars and thundercars
on Saturday afternoon, February 25th, at 2 p.m.
The Northeast lid-lifter will feature the super sprints and thundercars in
the first of four consecutive afternoon shows before switching over to 6 PM
starts for the March 24th, March 31st, and April 7th shows. After that
Lincoln will go to 7 PM starts for the April 14th, 21st and 28th shows
before switching over to it's regular 7:30 PM starts on May 5th.
In 2001, the eighth season under the direction of Don and Bob Leiby and
Alan Kreitzer, Lincoln carries the tradition of offering the most
competitive super sprint car (410) racing in the country as it's primary
division once again. The 358 Sprints and the thundercars will once again be
Lincoln's other "regular divisions" which will accompany most Saturday night
shows.
Now in its 48th year, Lincoln Speedway continues a tradition of offering
the world's toughest, most competitive Saturday night sprint car racing.
Super sprints have comprised the main class of racing at Lincoln Speedway
since 1965, and the "410" sprints are featured in 30 of Lincoln's 34 race
dates this year. Making it even tougher is the rich weekly Saturday night
purse and season point fund, with Cindy Rowe Auto Glass returning as point
series sponsor for a fifth straight year.
Exciting side-by-side racing has become the trademark of Lincoln's other
regular division--the thundercars--which will be in action 32 times, more
than any other division in 2001. For a fourth straight year, Miller
Brothers Chevrolet/Oldsmobile/Cadillac from Ellicott City, MD, will sponsor
the thundercar point fund.
In all, a dozen different classes of race cars will dot the 2001 schedule
at Lincoln.
The popular "358" sprints will appear 14 times, providing the backbone for
the normal three-division shows. We welcome Motorsports Monthly and
Budweiser as new sponsors of the "358" sprint division.
The micro-sprints will carry five race dates, while the traveling ARDC
Midgets will appear three times, one of which will be a special "non-wing"
extravaganza on August 18th.
After a thrilling Pennsylvania debut last year, the Virginia-based VSS
"305" sprint division will return to the banks of Lincoln Speedway as part
of a special holiday mid-week show on Tuesday, July 3rd. The INEX Legends,
limited late models, and North East Classic Race Cars will call Lincoln home
on two dates each, while the URC Sprints, the super sportsman, and the
vintage stock cars will be on hand for one-night appearances.
Bert Emick's All-Star Circuit of Champions will return to Lincoln Speedway
for two shows in 2001. After making a Saturday night appearance on May 5th,
the All-Stars and Pennsylvania Posse will take on Gary Wright, Aaron
Berryhill, and other stars from the NCRA as part of the new "All Stars vs.
NCRA Eastern Showdown" series in a special mid-week show on Thursday, June
14th.
The Second Annual Kevin Gobrecht Memorial on opening night of PENNSYLVANIA
SPEEDWEEK, the Seventh Annual Bobby Abel Memorial, and the 2001 edition of
the annual Kenny Weld Memorial are among other highlights of what promises
to be another historic season in the Pigeon Hills.

Don't forget to check out Lincoln Speedway's newly renovated web site at http://www.lincolnspeedway.com for all the latest results, standings, and
news of upcoming events.

LINCOLN SPEEDWAY 2001 SCHEDULE
Updated 2/18/00

February 24, 2001 Sat. 2:00 PM ICEBREAKER 25/NORTHEAST SEASON OPENER - Super
Sprints & Thundercars
March 3, 2001 Sat. 2:00 PM Super Sprints & Thundercars
March 10, 2001 Sat. 2:00 PM Super Sprints & Thundercars
March 17, 2001 Sat. 2:00 PM Super Sprints, Thundercars & N.E. Classic Cars
March 24, 2001 Sat. 6:00 PM Super Sprints, 358 Sprints & Thundercars
March 31, 2001 Sat. 6:00 PM Super Sprints, Thundercars & Vintage cars
April 7, 2001 Sat. 6:00 PM Super Sprints, Limited Late Models & Thundercars
April 14, 2001 Sat. 7:00 PM Super Sprints, ARDC Midgets & Thundercars
April 21, 2001 Sat. 7:00 PM Super Sprints, 358 Sprints & Thundercars
April 28, 2001 Sat. 7:00 PM Super Sprints, 358 Sprints & Thundercars
May 5, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM ALL STAR CIRCUIT OF CHAMPIONS - Super Sprints &
Thundercars plus an appearance by 2001 Ms. Motorsports Mandy Fenstermacher
May 12, 2001 Sat. 7:00 PM KIDS BIG WHEEL NIGHT - Super Sprints, 358 Sprints
& Thundercars
May 19, 2001 Sat. 7:00 PM YORK COUNTY RACING CLUB NIGHT - Super Sprints, 358
Sprints & Thundercars
May 26, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM SPRINT CHAMPIONSHIP - Super Sprints, Micro-Sprints
& Thundercars plus FIREWORKS
June 2, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM ARCH NIGHT - Super Sprints, 358 Sprints &
Thundercars
June 9, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM MANHEIM AUTO AUCTION NIGHT - Super Sprints, 358
Sprints & Thundercars
June 14, 2001 Thur. 7:30 PM ALL STARS VS. NCRA EASTERN SHOWDOWN - Super
Sprints & Thundercars
June 16, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM Super Sprints, United Racing Club (URC) Sprints &
Thundercars
June 23, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM PENNSYLVANIA SPEEDWEEK/2ND ANNUAL KEVIN GOBRECHT
MEMORIAL - Super Sprints & Thundercars
June 30, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM 358 Sprints, ARDC Midgets & Thundercars
July 3, 2001 Tues. 7:30 PM 358 Sprints, Super Spportsman & VSS 305 Sprints
plus FIREWORKS
July 7, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM PEPSI NIGHT/KIDS BIG WHEEL RACES - Super Sprints,
Micro-Sprints & Thundercars
July 14, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM Super Sprints, 358 Sprints & Thundercars
July 21, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM DARYL GOHN/GLENN GOHN SR. MEMORIAL - Super
Sprints, Limited Late Models & Thundercar Championship
July 28, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM YORK COUNTY RACING CLUB NIGHT - Super Sprints,
358 Sprints & Thundercars
August 4, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM THUNDERCAR MANUFACTURERS APPRECIATION NIGHT -
Super Sprints & Thundercars
August 11, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM Super Sprints, Micro-Sprints & Thundercars
August 18, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM KIDS NIGHT - Super Sprints, ARDC (Wingless)
Midgets
August 25, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM Super Sprints, 358 Sprints & Thundercars
September 1, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM 7TH ANNUAL BOBBY ABEL MEMORIAL - Super
Sprints (Final Points Race), 358 Sprints & Legends
September 8, 2001 Sat. 7:30 PM 358 Sprints (Final Points race),
Micro-Sprints & Thundercars (Final Points Race)
Sept. 15, 2001 Sat. 7:00 PM THUNDERCAR CHAMPIONSHIP - Micro-Sprints,
Thundercars, N.E. Classic Cars & Legends
Sept. 22, 2001 Sat. 7:00 PM SUPER SPRINT MANUFACTURERS NIGHT - Super Sprints
& Thundercars
Sept. 29, 2001 Sat. NO RACING
October 6, 2001 Sat. 7:00 PM 5TH ANNUAL KENNY WELD MEMORIAL - Super Sprints
& Thundercars
October 13, 2001 Sat. 7:00 PM Rain Date for Kenny Weld Memorial
November 10, 2001 Sat. Annual Lincoln Speedway Racers Flea Market
November 17, 2001 Sat. Annual Lincoln Speedway Awards Banquet

[This message has been edited by jammin (edited February 18, 2001).]

Back to the Archives