Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Forget winter: Think about IMCA Spring Nationals at Beatrice
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted December 15, 2000 02:34 PM UIN: 16262997
BEATRICE, Neb. (Dec. 15) – While winter has yet to officially arrive,
it’s never to soon to start thinking about Spring.
More particularly, about the eighth annual Spring Nationals at Beatrice
Speedway, scheduled Thursday through Sun-day, March 22-25, 2001.
Winner of the main event for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modifieds goes home with
$5,000, while every driver making the fea-ture gets at least $500. There’s
also a $200 guarantee to drivers who participate in all three days of racing.
A practice session is on tap for 6-9 p.m. Thursday, March 22. Gates
open at 1 p.m. Friday, with hot laps at 5:30 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m.
Gates open at noon Saturday, with 2 p.m. hot laps and the first heat
race at 3 p.m. Sunday sees gates opening at 10 a.m. and racing at 1 p.m.
The 3/8 mile track has been re-shaped from top to bottom, promoter Allen
Langdale said, and that should make for a faster surface.
Defending Spring Nationals champion is David Murray Jr. of Oberlin,
More information about the race is available by calling the speedway
business office, at (402) 223-3158, or at the track website,


Eight dates, point fund for Canyon’s Winter Series
PEORIA, Ariz. (Dec. 15) – The first series of the new race season gets
underway on Jan. 6, with the first of eight Saturday afternoon events in
the Winter Series at Canyon Raceway in Peoria, Ariz.
I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modi-fied drivers will be racing for shares of a $10,000
point fund in the 2001 series. The new point fund is sponsored by Barnett
Har-ley-Davidson Motorcycles of El Paso, Texas.
The series runs through Feb. 24 and any rainouts would be held on Sundays.
All eight events are I.M.C.A. sanctioned and points will count toward national
and Western Re-gion standings.
Each feature will pay $1,000 to win. The series champion earns $2,000,
with the point fund paid out to the top 20 drivers in the final point standings.
More information about the fifth annual series is available by calling
(623) 937-9769.

Back to the Archives