Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   S.A.S. Championship Concludes Sunday at Cleveland Speedway's Gobbler 100
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted December 05, 2000 01:56 PM UIN: 16262997
S.A.S. Championship Concludes Sunday at Cleveland Speedway's Gobbler 100

HUNTSVILLE AL -- The Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series Southern Storm Tour 2000 will conclude the 2000 Storm Series this Sunday (Dec. 10th) at the Cleveland Speedway in Cleveland, TN, for the 12th Annual running of the Gobbler 100.

The Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series points battle has been close all season and is becoming one of the best in series history as two time champion Clint Smith of Senoia, GA, is attempting to tie three time series champion Ronnie Johnson. Going into this weekends event Smith has a 28 point lead over the second place points contender and current leading BTW/LATE MODEL AMERICA Rookie of the Year candidate Paul Tims of Georgetown, TN. Third in points is Shane Tankersley of Morganton, GA, another rookie who is only 84 points out of the top spot. Fourth place in the standings is Jeff Walker of McMinnville, TN, and fifth place iscurrently held by 1999 S.A.S. Topless Bandit Series Champion John Llewellyn of Knoxville, TN.

Mike Head of Ellenwood, GA, Wesley Hood of Cowpens, SC, John Jones of Ft Oglethorpe, GA, Patrick Duggan of Lenior City, TN, and Mark Mears of Decatur, AL, fill out the top ten in series points and are expected to be in action this weekend at Cleveland Speedway.

Some other drivers from around the country that have expressed intent on racing this weekend include; Greg Skinner of Oxford AL, James Cline of Oxford, AL., Greg Knight of Cummings GA, Ray Cook of Brasstown NC, and two former SAS Dirt Racing Series Champions; Dale McDowell and Marshall Green are also expected to be in competition.

For more information including gate and race times contact the Southern All Stars at (256)539-4484, the Cleveland Speedway at (423)479-8574, or visit the following web-sites on the internet; or .

1.Clint Smith 2722; 2.Paul Tims 2694; 3.Shane Tankersley 2638; 4.Jeff Walker 1880; 5.John Llewellyn 1610; 6.Mike Head 1572; 7.Wesley Hood 1426; 8.John Jones 1252; 9.Patrick Duggan 1166; 10.Mark Mears 1112;
11.Greg Skinner 1066; 12.Jason Smith 890; 13.Laddie Fulcher 862; 14.Ronnie Johnson 862;
15.James Cline 820; 16.Greg Knight 818; 17.Jeff Smith 810; 18.Duayne Hommell 800;
19.Bo Shirley 766; 20.Chris Madden 762.

Back to the Archives