Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series headed to 'Bulls Gap'
Dirt Freak

Total posts: 253
posted August 28, 2000 06:41 PM
Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series headed to 'Bulls Gap'

By Robert Walden

BULLS GAP, Tenn. (Aug. 28) The Southern All-Stars Dirt Racing Series "Southern Storm 2000 Tour" will blow into Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, Tenn., for a big Labor Day weekend special Friday, Sept. 1 for the "Day & Nite Trucking 50." The $3,000 to win event at the ultra-fast, high-banked 4/10-mile oval will mark the second appearance at the track this year by the Huntsville, Ala.-based Southern All-Stars.

"We're proud to kick off a big three-night Labor Day weekend of racing in the state of Tennessee for the Southern All Stars, and this should be an outstanding night of racing at Volunteer Speedway," said track Promoter Brian Vance. "You've got the always tough Southern All-Stars competitors who will be coming in, and our local weekly racers at 'The Gap' are looking forward to the opportunity to race against those guys. We're looking for an excellent field of cars Friday night and this will be a race you don't want to miss."

The Southern All Stars Day & Nite Trucking 50 at Volunteer Speedway will be the 28th of 37 scheduled events for the touring competitors from the SAS, and will play an important part in the 2000 point championship that will be the biggest in series history. Drivers' from all across the southeast are expected to be present Friday night, including '92 and '93 series champion and current point leader, Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga., who enters this three race weekend holding a slim two point lead over Georgetown, Tenn.'s Paul Tims, who is the current BTW/LATE MODEL AMERICA Rookie-of-the-Year points leader.

Third through fifth, respectively, in the standings are Shane Tankersley of Morganton, Ga., McMinnville, Tenn.'s Jeff Walker, and John Llewellyn of Knoxville, Tenn.

Completing the top-10 in points are Ellenwood, Ga.'s Mike Head, Wesley Hood of Spartanburg, S.C., Patrick Duggan of Lenoir City, Tenn., John Jones of Rock Springs, Ga., and Thomaston, Ga.'s Laddie Fulcher.

Several other top southern competitors are expected to be present trying to tame the "World's Fastest 4/10-mile Dirt Track," among them Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., Skip Arp of Georgetown, Tenn., Bo Shirley of Gadsden, Ala., Jason Smith of Laurel, Miss., 1999 SAS Rookie-of-the-Year Jeff Smith of Kings Mountain, N.C., Greg Skinner of Oxford, Ala., Greg Knight of Cumming, Ga., Mark Mears of Decatur, Ala., fresh off his Southern All Stars victory last Saturday night at Talladega (Ala.) Short Track, Bobby Turner of Cumming, Ga., plus many others.

Leading the East Tennesse contingent of drivers will be defending Volunteer Speedway track champion Dale Ball of Johnson City, current point leader Vic "The Thrill" Hill of Greeneville, Duayne Hommel of Parrottsville, Scott Sexton of Pigeon Forge, Rick Norris of Kingsport, Dave Burks of Abingdon, Va., H. E. Vineyard of Powell, Kerry Jones of Bristol, Herman Goddard of Knoxville, Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Roger Best of Maryville, Gusty Christenberry of Seymour, Brett Miller of Greeneville, Brad Coffey of Maryville, Brad Carty of Kingsport, Carlos Campbell of Jonesborough, Steve Smith of Powell, Tommy Kerr of Rockford, Mark Douglas of Knoxville, David Crabtree of Maryville, Michael Jackson of Greeneville, Tim Frye of Bulls Gap, Anthony White of Clinton, Greg Burchett of Church Hill, Marty Black of Knoxville, plus many others.

The Southern All-Stars Dirt Racing Series Day & Nite Trucking 50, paying $3,000 to win will highlight the Friday, Sept. 1 racing program, along with the UMP (Open-Wheel) Modifieds and Sportsman divisions.

Pit gates open Friday at 3 p.m., with grandstand gates opening at 5 p.m. Adult grandstand admission is $15, with pit passes and backside tier parking $25.

Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series Official Point Standings: 1. Clint Smith 2070; 2. Paul Tims 2068; 3. Shane Tankersley 2004; 4. Jeff Walker 1494; 5. John Llewellyn 1280; 6. Mike Head 1240; 7. Wesley Hood 1156; 8. Patrick Duggan 1146; 9. John Jones 994; 10. Laddie Fulcher 804.

For more information contact Volunteer Speedway Promoter Brian Vance at (423) 477-0331, Lynn Acklin-Series Publicist Southern All-Stars at (256) 539-4484, Wes Jenkins-Director of Operations and Marketing (423) 256-7701, or Robert Walden-Volunteer Speedway Public Relations/Media Contact at (423) 928-9644. Also, you may visit the Volunteer Speedway Web site at, or the Southern All-Stars site at

Back to the Archives