Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted September 08, 2002 09:40 AM UIN: 16262997

Keith Reed of Hagerstown has had his share of bad luck this season, but

on Saturday night he put it all behind him as he drove to his first career

win holding off the challenges of Dean Holmes and Steve Kent in the 20-lap

Ernie's Salvage Yard Fall Championship for pure stocks at the Hagerstown


"This is unbelievable," said Reed in Victory Lane. "I am so proud of
team. They have stood by me through all the ups and downs that we have had.
had to replace a front end one week and last week it was a rear. Without
I wouldn't be here."

In other action, Larry Hurley of Thurmont came from deep in the 34 car

field to take the lead on lap 95 to win the Fall Championship Enduro for
and James Gress of McConnellsburg, PA outlasted 24 other cars in the Tommy

Thompson Memorial Demolition Derby.

The 20-lap double point Ernie's Salvage Yard Pure Stock Championship

started off with Jeff Johnson blasting out in front from the pole. But before

the first lap was completed, Paul Rice was T-boned in the third turn by John

Huber to bring out the caution as Johnson pulled pitside for the night during

the caution. On the restart, Keith Reed grabbed the lead from the outside

pole with Jim Snyder and Eugene Conlee in pursuit. By the second lap, 10th

starting Steve Kent broke into the top five and was in second on Reed's
bumper by the third lap. On the fifth lap, the second and final caution was

waved when Conlee's motor went up in smoke down the frontstretch while
running third.

Reed led the field on the restart as Kent stayed on the leader's bumper.

Dean Holmes, substituting for Mike Warrenfeltz, moved into third from his

eighth starting spot on lap six with Jim Snyder right behind. Kent, Holmes

and Snyder went two and three wide several times trying to take the lead
Reed. Kent made contact with Reed on lap 12 but both cars were able to hold

on to their positions. On lap 17, Kent made contact again that allowed Holmes

to move into second. Despite the challenges of Holmes and Kent the final

three laps, Reed drove a flawless race to score his first career win by one

car length. Holmes was second and Kent came across the finish line in third,

but was disqualified by officials for unsportsmanlike conduct. Jim Snyder
third with Steve Long and Hans Stamberg rounding out the top five. Finishing

out the top ten were Kim Ramer, Bruce Leibowitz, Michael Sanders, Kenny
Dillon and Frank Dibella. Heat winners for the 22 cars were Reed, Greg
Hockensmith and Johnson.

Patrick Murphy took the early lead in the 100-lap Fall Championship
enduro as Larry Hurley started back in the 20th spot. Murphy was into lapped

traffic by lap five and two laps later Steve Thompson took over the lead.
lap 24, 14th starting Russ Moseley moved into second and on lap 40, the red

flag was waved when a car rolled over a couple times down the backstretch.

Moseley dashed in front on the restart, but Murphy came right back to regain

the lead on lap 45. On lap 62, the red flag was waved and during the pause,

Thompson, who was running third, had his engine catch fire. Murphy continued

to set the pace on the restart as Hurley broke into the top five on lap 65.

Hurley moved into third on lap 80 as Moseley closed in on Murphy's bumper.

With 10 laps remaining, Hurley passed Moseley for second and was on
Murphy's bumper when the red flag was waved for the final time on lap 95.
the restart, Murphy had distributor problems and pulled into the pits as

Hurley held off a hard charging Derrick Riley at the end for the win. Moseley

settled for third with 30th starting Kevin Durst fourth and Darrin Williams


James Gress won the Tommy Thompson Demolition Derby over Ralph Dishong,

George Johnson, Tracy Abbott and Mark Mowen.

Next Saturday, September 14th, it will be Auto Locator Fan Appreciation

Night as the ITSI late models, Hoosier Tires Mid-Atlantic and the Ernie's

Salvage Yard pure stocks battle it out in the final points race of the year.

Adult admission will be only $6 with kids under 12 FREE. Race time is 7 P.M.

20-LAP ERNIE'S SALVAGE YARD CHAMPIONSHIP (22 Cars) Lap Leaders: (Reed, 1-20).

1. Keith Reed; 2. Dean Holmes; 3. Jim Snyder; 4. Steve Long; 5. Hans
Stamberg; 6. Kim Ramer; 7. Bruce Leibowitz; 8. Michael Sanders; 9. Kenny

Dillon; 10. Frank Dibella; 11. Kevin Shade; 12. Bill Reitober; 13. Eugene

Conlee; 14. Corey Oberholtzer; 15. Ronnie Dennis; 16. Paul Rice; 17. Jeff

Johnson; 18. John Huber; 19. Wayne Hawbaker. DNS: Greg Hockensmith; Denny

Saunders. DSQ: Steve Kent.

100-LAP FALL CHAMPIONSHIP ENDURO: 34 Cars (Lap Leaders: Murphy, 1-3, 20-40,

45-94; Thompson, 4-19; Moseley, 41-44; Hurley, 95-100) 1. Larry Hurley; 2.

Derrick Riley; 3. Russ Moseley; 4. Kevin Durst; 5. Darrin Williams; 6. Bobby

Moore; 7. Kenny Thomas; 8. Karl Windish; 9. Allen Virtz; 10. Krazy Kenny

Thomas; 11. Patrick Murphy; 12. Jim Mullendore; 13. Russell Naugle; 14.
Charlie Pensinger; 15. Sherman Lynn Jr.; 16. John Poole; 17. Roy Rowland;
William Crook; 19. Steve Thompson; 20. Eric Myers; 21. Barry Jones; 22.
William Silkworth; 23. Jim Smith; 24. Danny Holmes; 25. Sherman Lynn Sr.;
Tony Ford; 27. Todd Mickey; 28. Mark Gordon; 29. John Graves; 30. Richard

Turner; Not Scored: Jimmy Parrill; Jeff Allen; Chris Jones; Tim Popp.

Back to the Archives