Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Gary Pettit Takes First Feature Win in Pure Stock
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted March 23, 2002 10:32 AM UIN: 16262997
Gary Pettit Takes First Feature Win in Pure Stock
Sue DuRoy March 22, 2002 Baton Rouge Raceway
John Griffin was unbeatable in street stock. Griffin and John Wilks shared the heat wins. From outside the front row Griffin blasted into the lead on the start followed by Wilks. Wilks fell back a few positions and Don Bolton moved to second. Bolton had his hands full with Todd Rogers trying to get second away from him. Upfront Griffin pulled further away, and took the win by 10 car lengths over Bolton, Rogers, Gene Brown and John Wilks.
Pure stock heats wins went to Gary Pettit, Eric McCallister, and Michael Barfield. Barfield took the early lead followed by Gary Pettit. The two swapped the lead three times then when Barfield was leading he spun in four and earned a trip to the rear on the restart. Pettit took over as leader and went on to score his first win at Baton Rouge Raceway. Bo Garig took second followed by Zane Barcelona, Darrell Guy, and Moran.
Randy Leonard, Jeff Martello, and Jerry Cassano took the UMP heat wins.
On the start Leonard took the lead then fell off the pace and fell back through a whole army of cars. Doyle Bratton brought the first yellow out when he spun. Seconds yellow came out when Davin Bates spun in four. On the restart it was Jerry Cassano. Cassano led the rest of the race and took the win. Darren Carroll Ran second with Shane Hebert trying to get that spot. With a lap to go Hebert took second then went after Cassano, closed the gap on him but couldn't take the lead away and had to settle for second, Carroll finished third, Bratton fourth and Mike Row fifth.
Late Model feature started with a bang. Curt Lipsey on the pole ran wheel to wheel with Kerry Vicnair for the lead. Down the back straightaway Lipsey pulled into the lead and Vicknair followed in second. When Vicknair reached turn four he spun and collected, Bill Gordon, Eric Courville, Jerry Bevis, Butch Jenkins, Jason Polite and Kevin Watts. On the restart Curt Lipsey took the lead again followed by Kevin Watts. Watts had his hands full lap after lap with Eric Courville. Lipsey took the win followed by Eric Courville who finally got second, Watts third, David Ashley fourth and rounding out the top five was Kerry Vicknair. Heat wins went to Lipsey and Kerry.
Larry Clayton and Scotty Covington took the mini stock heat wins. Scotty Covington took the lead on the start and led every lap and Black Beauty took the checkered and scored the win. Dewayne Everett took second. A few car lengths separated them at the end Everette closed the gap but had to settle for second. Third was Calvin Tyler and fourth Michael Tyler. Alvin King took fifth.

Back to the Archives