Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Winchester (TN) Speedway race results from March 29
Dennis Bowling
Dirt Full Roller

Total posts: 49
posted March 30, 2003 04:47 PM
Winchester Speedway in Winchester, Tennessee on Saturday, March 29

With overcast sky’s and cooler temperatures in the area on Saturday night, one might assume that this night was better left to indoor activities but then again one might be wrong.
Over 100 racers felt that the weather was just fine for racing and while a couple of racers might have preferred being somewhere else when their world was turned upside down, literally, the rest had a great track to race on and some terrific competition to keep them busy.
In the Late Model division, B.J. Sanders set fast time with a clocking of 14.68 seconds then jumped out to an early lead only to loop his racer on lap two. B.J. would be sent to the rear on the restart and while he worked his way back through the pack Mr. Sanders would settle for eighth on this night. Former track champion, Jerry Owens assumed the point and led until halfway when the Muscle Shoals, Alabama veteran slipped and allowed Jeff Walker and Jerry Ashley to get past for the lead. While Walker was pressured the entire distance by Ashley the McMinnville Marauder held onto the point to pick up his first victory of the season. Randy Gifford charged through the pack (started in row 5) to garner third while former Duck River Speedway champion, David Thompson got around a faltering Owens in the waning circuits to notch the fourth position.
Late Models
1) Jeff Walker
2) Jerry Ashley
3) Randy Gifford
4) David Thompson
5) Jerry Owens
6) Carnell Parker
7) Tony Morris
8) B.J. Sanders
9) Michael Greer
10) Jeremy Taylor

Estill Springs Steve Garner lost a chance at victory three weeks ago when he spun going for the lead in the first annual “WinterFest”. Steve would not repeat that mistake tonight as Garner topped a fine field of Open Wheels to pick up the win. Heat race winner and pole sitter Corey Posey held onto the runner-up position with Jeff Tate, David Jackson and Henry Hanger completing the top 5. Tate also was a heat race winner.

Open Wheel
1) Steve Garner
2) Corey Posey
3) Jeff Tate
4) David Jackson
5) Henry Hanger
6) Pat Green
7) Mark Haddon
8) Jeremy Stone
9) Tony Mooney
10)Landon Arnold

While many racers haven’t even gotten their season started yet, Shelbyville’s Scott Cook rolled up his third victory of the year topping Pulaski’s Ken McAffee in his maiden voyage at Winchester in his Barry Smartt 2-bbl Ltd. Late Model. Decherd’s Matt Jackson had a flawless run to capture the third spot while Tommy Davis and Randy Judge were fourth and fifth. Cook and Rick Curren were heat winners. While Cook was on top of his game last night, his Shelbyville neighbor Greg Curl was on top of the wall! On lap six Curl was turned into the front stretch wall and Greg’s racer climbed the wall tore down some catch fence flipped over and was done for the night. Greg was alright but like Bob Jarrett in the Open Wheel feature his racer was not!
2-Barrel Ltd. Late Model
1) Scott Cook
2) Ken McAfee
3) Matt Jackson
4) Tommy Davis
5) Randy Judge
6) Chad Williams
7) Rick Currin
8) Billy Barnett
9) Will Guimrin
10)Steve Blackwell

In Super Stock action Jason James won his heat race then held back a late charge by Tyler Landers to grab the win. Landers was perhaps the hard charger for the night, coming through the pack and narrowly missing the win. Broian Hudson was third as Rickey Fuller edged JJ Hall for fourth. Wayne Bean won his heat race.
Super Stock
1) Jason James
2) Tyler Landers
3) Brian Hudson
4) Rickey Fuller
5) T.J. Hall
6) Ronnie Morrison
7) Gary Tucker
8) DeWayne Hicks
9) Keith Hopkins
10)Chris Russell
Brad Sain became the first two time feature winner in 2003 at Winchester by besting Brandon Scott and Joey Sisk in a borrowed racer (Sisk drove Tom Wilson’s black #13 to an impressive third. Sain and Scott were the heat winners.
Outlaw Pony
1) Brad Sain
2) Brandon Scott
3) Joey Sisk
4) Rickey Brown
5) Nathan Campbell
6) Michael Blade
7) Dion Gordon
8) Kent Carter
9) Dusty Henley
10)Bill Sparkman
Shane Hooper withstood a late run by Joe Burns to nab the victory while Stanley James and Clyde Petty were third and fourth respectively.
Mini Stock
1) Shane Hooper
2) Joe Burns
3) Stanley James
4) Clyde Petty
5) Michael Brown
6) Edwin Taylor
7) Lee Farless
8) Joey Harrison
9) Chad Green

Racing continues every on Saturday night’s through October with the first “Big 10” Steel Head Late Model Super series event scheduled for April 12.

Dennis Bowling

Back to the Archives