Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   $5,000 To Win Super Late Model Championship at the PTGP!
Dirt Roller

Total posts: 5
posted November 21, 2002 08:38 PM
Columbus Speedway News
Columbus, Mississippi
Special Event News

$5,000 To Win Super Late Model Championship at the PTGP!

Columbus Mississippi-The 2nd Annual Lawson Construction Possum Town Grand Prix takes place on Thanksgiving weekend featuring a final speed feast of the 2002 season for racers and race fans alike. The inaugural PTGP event in 2001 saw a large contingent of drivers on hand as 197 racecars invaded Johnny Stokes' high banked clay playground in all classes including 51 Super Late Models to kick off the new holiday tradition. Wendell Wallace of Batesville, Arkansas made the trip to Columbus Speedway and a guest appearance in the Joe Minga prepared GRT pay off with the $5,000 victory with Mike Boland taking second and pole sitter Anthony Rushing completing the podium.

Competition for the 2002 PTGP Championship will be the order of the evening as the win is truly up for grabs as the Super Late Model division at Columbus Speedway has produced a plethora of winners including a feature winners list that is representative of the high level of competition seen throughout the 2002 season on the popular high banks. A total of 16 different drivers made the coveted trip to Columbus Speedway Victory Lane in the past calendar year. The list is led by 2002 Track Champion "Ravishing" Rick Rickman of Columbus while the "Pontotoc Pirate" Steve Russell showed the way early and often with 7 wins on the season. Other 2002 Columbus Speedway Weekly Racing Series winners include "Fast" Eddie Rickman, 2001 Track Champion "The Prowler" Shawn Edwards, "The Raging Rebel" David Breazeale, "Mr. Spectacular" Scott Dedwylder, and " The Weir Wolf" Tombo Callahan.

The special event winners list from the past year exudes the prominence and excellence Columbus Speedway fans have witnessed including many of the best in the business such as Don O'Neal, Anthony Rushing, Leslie Essary, Wendell Wallace, Bill Frye, Mike Boland, Duayne Hommel, Billy Moyer, Scott Slay, and Steve Russell.

Not withstanding, part of the beauty of a late season event such as the Possum Town Grand Prix is that mystery shrouds which drivers will be in attendance much like the fond days of the past when anxious eyes watched the pit gate with great anticipation wondering who will show up, who's hauler is in line, and who will be the driver to beat. There is no pre entry list to release but just a throw back event where there are no points, big money, or series/track titles at stake; just hard racing, camaraderie, and having fun. Nevertheless, a potent field of the regions premiere drivers should be on hand laying the customary maniacal all out assault on the Columbus high banks with pride and prestige in the line as well as some handsome holiday season cash and fond memories to make it through the dreaded off season.

Also scheduled on the holiday weekend speed feast event line up is a plethora of co-main events including the $2,000 to win 2nd Annual Cruiser World Championship, the $2,000 to win season finale' for the Goddard Performance Mississippi Modified State Championship Series, and the Fall Hardcore Championships with $800 to win up for grabs for the Pro Street, Street Stock, and Mini Stock divisions. The Pro 4 division will have their Fall Championship as well.

Qualifying will be held on Friday evening November 29th with B-Mains and Main events on Saturday evening November 30th. Racetime is set for 5:30pm in the evening each day taking advantage of the early sunset providing premium night time action on the high banked 3/10's mile clay oval.

Lawson Construction PTGP Super Late Model Overview:

Super Late Model PTGP 50 Lap Championsh

Back to the Archives