Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted October 10, 2002 06:24 PM UIN: 16262997


WOODSTOCK, GA - A star-studded field of the top dirt late model drivers
the country will be traveling to Woodstock, GA this Friday and Saturday
night with $200,000 in prize money up for grabs in the $55,000-to-win 13th
Annual Hardee's Shootout for the United Dirt Track Racing Association Pro
DirtCar Series.

Five former UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series Champions along with five former
Hardee's Shootout winners are among the entrants expected.

The newly crowned 2002 UDTRA Champion Rick Eckert of York, PA will head
entry list after clinching his second straight UDTRA title last Saturday
night in Cumberland, MD. Eckert will be looking for his seventh win of the
season to go over the $1-million mark in career UDTRA earnings and also set
a single season earnings record.

The 1999 UDTRA Champion and defending and two-time Hardee's Shootout
Champion Dale McDowell of Rossville, GA will also have his gun a blazing
the Hardee's Shootout trying to secure the second spot in UDTRA points at
the season finale. In 12 previous Hardee's Shootouts, McDowell and another
Shootout entrant, Marshall Green of Dalton, GA, have missed just one main

The "Petroff Posse" led by 1997 UDTRA Champion and Hardee's Shootout winner
Billy Moyer of Batesville, AR will be riding into the Shootout. Moyer and
McDowell are tied for second on the all-time UDTRA win list with 29
victories. Moyer's teammate Shannon Babb of Decatur, IL will be riding
shotgun for "Mr. Smooth" at the Hardee's Shootout in search of his first
career UDTRA win.

The 1996 UDTRA Champion Freddy Smith of Knoxville, TN will be looking for
his second UDTRA win of the season, and the Southern Gentleman is sixth in
UDTRA points. The 1993 UDTRA Champion Clint Smith of Senoia, GA is another
former UDTRA Champion looking for his first Hardee's Shootout win.

Wendell Wallace of Batesville, AR has indicated he will be making the trip
to the Peach State looking for a matching Hardee's Shootout trophy to go
with the one he earned in 1996. The 1995 Hardee's Shootout Champion Bill
Frye of Greenbrier, AR is also coming to the Hardee's Shootout. The 1991
Shootout Champion Tony Reaid of Acworth, GA will also be back this year.

Steve Francis of Ashland, KY, Jimmy Mars of Elk Mound, WI, Earl Pearson Jr.
of Jacksonville, FL, Randy Korte of Highland, IL, Ray Cook of Brasstown,
Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, TN, and Shane Tankersley of Morganton, GA are
other UDTRA top ten drivers that will be competing at the Shootout.

Francis is third in points with two wins this season, and Mars is fourth
points, also with two wins. Pearson is fifth in points with one win, and
Korte is seventh in points with two wins. Cook is eighth in points and
finished in the top ten in UDTRA points for the eighth consecutive season.

Ogle is ninth in points and has wrapped up the $10,000 Lucas Oil Rookie of
the Year title. Tankersley will be the Lucas Oil RoY Runner-Up and is tenth
in points. Donnie Moran of Dresden, OH is just 12 points behind Tankersley
in the points chase, and will be at the Shootout trying to earn a top ten
spot in the UDTRA points.

The UDTRA North-South 100 winner and three-time Renegade Series Champion
Chub Frank of Sugar Grove, PA will be at the Shootout. He will be joined
another former Renegade Champion, Mike Balzano of Parkersburg, WV. Steve
Shaver of Parkersburg, WV will come to the Shootout fresh off his second
straight UDTRA Big Kahuna 75 win in Cumberland, MD.

Three other UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series race winners this season coming to the
Shootout are three-time winner Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA, Mike Duvall
of Gaffney, SC, and Skip Arp of Gerogetown, TN.

A total of six members of the National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame in the
active driver category will be coming to the Hardee's Shootout. That list
is represented by Buck Simmons of Baldwin, GA, Rodney Combs of Fort Myers,
FL, Smith, Moyer, Moran, and Duvall.

A strong contingent of Dixie Speedway regulars have earned an invitation
the Shootout led by seven former track champions.

The list is led by 2002 Dixie Speedway Champion Jody Summerville of Rome,
GA. Other former Dixie Speedway champions entered are Phil Coltrane of
Canton, GA, Bobby Turner of Ballground, GA, Rodney Martin of Cartersville,
GA, Wade Knowles of Tyrone, GA, Wayne Echols of Cumming, GA, and Vernon
Smith of Rome, GA.

A pair of Woodstock, GA drivers receiving their first invitations to the
Hardee's Shootout are Justin Wakefield and Jason Croft. Derrick Rainey of
Powder Springs, GA and Tim Day of Alpharetta, GA are two more local
favorites that will be at the Shootout.

Other entries expected are Kenny Merchant of Ruston, LA, Chris Madden of
Laurens, SC, Jack Pennington of Winston, GA, "Hot" Rod Lamance of Six-Mile,
SC, Lamar Haygood of Douglasville, GA, Gary McPherson of Dalton, GA David
Payne of Murphy, NC and many more representing the 29 states and one
province of Canada of invited drivers.

On Friday, the pit gate opens at noon, with the grandstand gates opening
4 p.m. The UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series will begin hot laps at 6:30 p.m.
followed by qualifying and six heat races that will determine the "Elite
starting positions for the Hardee's Shootout. After the heat races have
been completed, the $5,000-to-win Isky Dash will take to Dixie Speedway.

On Saturday, the grandstand gates will open at 2 p.m., and fans will be
greeted by a live band. The Dirt Racing Outreach will be holding a church
service just outside the pit gate at 4 p.m. There will be a UDTRA Drivers
Autograph Session on Souvenir Row at 5 p.m.

The pre-race ceremonies are scheduled for 6:30 p.m. followed by hot laps
the cars competing in the two Polaris ATVs Consolation Races. This will
the last opportunity for drivers to transfer into the starting line-up for
the $55,000-to-win, $2,500-to-start Hardee's Shootout.

A complete list of Hardee's Shootout invitees and a roster for the Isky
Dash is available on the UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series web site at

In addition to the UDTRA Pro DirtCars, the Dixie Speedway A and B Sportsman
cars will also be in action on Friday and Saturday nights. The A and B
Sportsmen will qualify on Friday night, and then both divisions will compete
in Championship races on Saturday night.

For race day, ticket hotel and camping information call Dixie Speedway at
(770) 926-5315, or visit their web site at The few
remaining reserved seats will go on sale at the track ticket office at 4
p.m. on Friday along with two-day general admission tickets for $50. Dixie
Speedway is located one-mile west of I-575 on Highway 92.

Back to the Archives