Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Luke Merfeld Scores NASCAR Late Model Win At Dubuque
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted August 12, 2002 06:09 PM UIN: 16262997
Luke Merfeld Scores NASCAR Late Model Win At Dubuque

The NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge was in action at the Dubuque County Fairgrounds Speedway on Sunday night. The night was sponsored by True Value Hardware Stores and Choo Choo Charlies Pizza. It was back to school kidís night with the Jiffy Lube nickel scramble and bike give aways for the youngsters.

The NASCAR Late Model feature saw another first time winner make his way into victory lane. Luke Merfeld broke a four year winless streak by winning the 25 lap feature. Merfeld has had nothing but bad luck the last month which included two roll over incidents at his home track. Sunday night Merfeld got to the front early and used the low line in route to his win. Merfeld was pressured by Denny Eckrich for the last half of the race and Eckrich actually was able to get inside of Merfeld on lap 22 when Merfeld slipped up just a bit. Merfeld recovered quickly and held on for the win. Eckrich crossed the line in second ahead of Mark Curwen and Steve Johnson.

Jason Schueller extended his point lead in the Modified division by winning the 20 lap feature on Sunday night. Schueller had to come from the 10th starting position and was able to get to the front and take the lead from early leader Bob Bollon. Schueller had to drive a perfect race as he was pressured by veterans Scott Nesteby and Ron Barker late in the race. Nesteby and Barker finished second and third respectively.

Dan Shelliam and Jeff Kennedy put on quite a show in the NASCAR Pro Stock feature. The two drivers raced side by side 10 of the 15 laps. Shelliam rode the high side to take the win by less than a car length over Kennedy. Ty Kleiner took the checkers in third.

Jim Turpin crossed the finish line in second on Sunday night but was declared the winner after the winner was declared illegal for failing post race inspection. Turpinís win was his fourth of the season at the Dubuque County Fairgrounds Speedway. K.C. Ansel took second ahead of Larry Benn.

Jeff Jorgensen made the trip from Mineral Point, Wisconsin on Sunday night and raced his Dodge Neon to the feature win in the Farley Flyer main event. Keith Kiernan took second ahead of Randy Leehan.

Sunday, August 18th will be a full program of NASCAR racing at Dubuque with the NASCAR Late Models running twin 25 lap main events. Racing will get underway at 6:30 p.m.

Race Results 8/11/02

Farley Flyers

Heat 1

1. 00 John Flury-Epworth

2. 45 Jeff Jorgensen-Mineral Point, WI

3. 69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI

Heat 2

1. 23 Keith Kiernan-Dubuque

2. 55 Brian Kammerude-Hazel Green, WI

3. 66 Tony Brimeyer-Dubuque


45 Jorgensen
23 Keith Kiernan
17 Randy Leehan-Apple River, IL
55 Kammerude
00 Flury
14 Levi Benn-Dyersville
91 Jim Thompson-Delhi
69 Roth
99.3 Mark Jaeger-Dyersville
97 Russ Their-Dyersville
38g Kyle Gansen-Epworth
38S R.J. Simon-Farley
66 Brimeyer
21K Danny Kennedy-Dubuque
57 Don Marcov Jr-Dubuque
75 Chad Naderman-Farley
68 Steve Stackis-Dubuque
21m Marty Schissel-Dubuque
31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI

NASCAR Hobby Stocks

Heat 1

6 Jed Frieberger-Dubuque
28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi
33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI

Heat 2

8K Jerry Merkes-Farley
98 Jason Rauen-Farley
81 K.C. Ansel-Dubuque


33 Turpin
81 Ansel
13 Larry Benn-Dyersville
3b Brian Alt-Benton, WI
97Steve Dunkel- Worthington
98 Rauen
6 Frieberger
28 McIntyre
83 Rob Petsche-Centralia
59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL
89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque

NASCAR Pro Stocks

Heat 1

2K Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque
25 Bobby Moyer-Dubuque
22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque

Heat 2

16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI
20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI
71 Kevin Schroeder-Low Moor


16 Shelliam
2k Kennedy
20 Kleiner
12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque
22 Valentine
25 Moyer
35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque
1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids
18 Skip Culbertson-Dubuque
91 Rich Picha-Prairie DuChein, WI
71 Schroeder
23 Jim Amos-Peosta
97 Reinert
13 Dan Fortman-Dubuque

NASCAR Modifieds

Heat 1

37b Ron Barker-Dubuque
39 Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL
3 Jason Schuller-Dubuque

Heat 2

74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque
13 Luke Pestka-Delhi
20 Korey Burmeister-Glen Haven, WI


3 Schueller
74 Nesteby
37b Barker
27 Mark Schulte-Delhi
16 Ryan Dolan-Lisbon
4 Jerry Miles-Dubuque
20 Burmeister
15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque
63t Steve Olson-Preston
39 Bollon
89 Tom Pestka-Delhi
24m Jan Messer-Manchester
69 Roger Donahue-Dubuque
80 Denny Ansel-Dubuque
1D Mel Saffran-Dubuque
D55 Scott Lemke-Davis Junction, IL
13 Pestka
11 Mike Burbridge-Delhi
19 Jim Allen-Dubuque
10 Jed Hurst-Hazel Green, WI

Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models

Heat 1

56 Gary Webb-Blue Grass
50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin
21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque

Heat 2

1. 79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI

2. 61r Jon Rogers-German Valley, IL

3. 44 Duane Coulson-East Dubuque, IL


21 Merfeld
50 Eckrich
54 Mark Curwen-Hazel Green, WI
77J Steve Johnson-Camanche
56 Webb
98.1 Bobby Hansen-Dike
79 Mish
61R Rogers
5 Layne Meyer-West Union
8 Mark Merfeld-Dubuque
95 Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI
44 Coulson
27 Ed McGuire-Monroe, WI
57 Ryan Naab-Dubuque

Back to the Archives