Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Boyz O' Summer Older Todd Morrow & Doug Works Sizzle Cleveland
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted August 05, 2002 11:10 AM UIN: 16262997
Boyz O' Summer Older Todd Morrow & Doug Works Sizzle Cleveland

The competition was on fire this weekend at the Cleveland Speedway "Summer
Sizzler" event which held twin 30 lap feature, one for the Hobby division
and the other for the Super Late Models. A post race inspection of the race
leader in the Hobby feature declared runner-up Doug Works as the winner. In
the Super Late Model feature a stellar field of competitors chased young
Todd Morrow to another victory in his "Shannon Trucking, Cleveland Speedway
Driving School" Ford Mustang. The Claimer Late Model division witnessed
another new winner as Dewayne Powell raced victory. The Pony Stock division
is Jason Spraker dominated and that fact didn't change as he extended his
points lead. And in the Street finale young Alex Nash (16 years old) took
the win.

In Budweiser: King of Speed Qualifying Time Trials 21 racers signed in for
battle. It was rookie Billy Mayo of Cleveland setting the standard early
with a 14:263 lap. His nephew current Track Championship Points Leader Todd
Morrow was his closest advisory at 14:296. Third fast qualifier Jamie Perry
lined up against Mayo for the first of two heats. Perry and Mayo drag-raced
thru turn one with Perry finally taking command from the outside on lap 2.
Perry won the heat earning him the pole for the "A" Main feature over Mayo.
Dewayne Smith finished third, with Chuck Tinker and Jeff Stansberry rounding
out the top five. Morrow dominated the second heat against fourth fast
qualifier Mike Tinker. Bobby Mayse almost worked under Tinker but settled
for third. Reigning S.A.S. Champion Rex Richey finished fourth and Paul Tims
rounded out the top five.

As the field took the green Perry took command and seemed to be
on his way to his seasons first victory. Morrow had other plans as the
thundering herd of SLM's work the TN Valley speed facility. Morrow began
inching Perry on the outside and on lap 11 took the lead down the front
straight-away. Chris Beavers and John Owenby tangled racing for 10th on the
front straight-away to rear the races first of two caution periods. As the
field restarted Tinker worked by Perry for second as the other caution waved
on lap 18 for Mayo while running seventh. On the restart Mayse got under
Perry for third as the pole sitter attempted a highside comeback. It was to
no avail as eventually Smith and Richey would gain passage on Perry knocking
him outta the top five. Tinker didn't seem to have enough for Old Fort # T1
pilot who the checkers for the final time as a 16 year old. "This is a nice
birthday present" regarding the win coming two days before his 17th
birthday. Tinker, Mayse, Smith and Richey rounded out the top five. Sixth
thru tenth were; Eddie Benefield, Perry, Chuck Tinker, Peanut Clinton, and
Tims rounded out the top ten.

In the Special Hobby "Summer Sizzler" 30 lap feature Shawn Reese took the
checkers after a race long battle with runner-up Doug Works of Cleveland.
Reese and Works won their respective heats earning front row starts for the
30 lap "A" Main Feature. Jerry Coffman reared the first caution after making
contact with Randy Lilley in turn four of lap 5. Lynn Roark set in towards
the front passing James Nichols for third before Stacy Gray and Casey
Whitehead reared the next caution on lap 9. The "Murphy (NC) Mafia"
continued as both Chris Stewart and Jim Twiggs raced side-by-side for fifth.
A large parking lot ensued towards the end for the feature as Kenny
Scroggins got tangled up with Lilley and Whitehead in turn two. Roarks night
was ended when the
# 21 suffered a flat tire. The inspection disqualified Reese after the
checkers giving the big double points event to the "Workmeister's" # 35
"Jeff's Auto Transport, Auto Zone" sponsored team. Division points leader
Richard Dixon finished second, with Nichols, Stewart and Michael Clements
rounding out the top five. Sixth thru tenth were; Kenny Pierce, Whitehead,
Gray, Roark and Twiggs.

Other Racing Action:

Claimer Late Model: Winner - Dewayne Powell (# P17) of Cleveland (First
Career CLM Win)
2.Glen Seaton III (# 92), 3.Jody Campbell (# 28), 4.Chad Anderson (#
17), 5.Tim Gibson (# T3)

Pony Stock: Winner - Jason Spraker (# 25) of Cleveland
2.Jimmy Brown (# 10), 3.Keith Jones (# 78), 4.Scott Ledford (# 32),
53.Wendall Ingram (# 24)

Street: Winner - Alex Nash (# 02) of Chattanooga
3.Herbert Chambers (# 31), 3.Roy Nichols (# 00), 4.Chad Holcomb (# T3),
5.Jeff King (# K1)

Back to the Archives