Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

snap shot
Dirt Roller

Total posts: 5
posted May 26, 2002 09:41 AM

Media Contact: Judy Gower 724-853-RACE/

IMPERIAL, PA...Zelienople's John Flinner collected his first QPI Tools Late Model feature of the season Saturday at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. Robert Freshour of Weirton, WV garnered his second Advance Auto Parts checkered flag of the campaign. Aliquippa's Ralph Hysong Jr enjoyed his second career E-Modified victory, while Dave Beck of Imperial became the third first time winner in four weeks of racing in the Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks. Bob Schwartzmiller of Robinson Township won the Amateur Stock feature, and the first Demolition Derby of the season went to Robbie Haught of Washington.

D.J. Miller blasted from the pole into the lead to start the QPI Tools Late Model feature. Dave Wade settled into second with Flinner third. As Miller built a half-straightaway lead, Flinner overhauled Wade for the runner-up spot on lap ten. The race's only caution waved on lap twelve for a Gary Swiger spin. On the restart, Flinner showed his muscle on the outside and quickly moved into the lead and pulled away for a convincing win. Miller was second, Al Atallah came from seventh to third, with George Kowatic fourth, and Mike Cecere fifth. Lou Bradich, Wade, Jim Zarin, Ben Miley and Mike Johnson completed the top ten. Bill Adler was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Alex Ferree and Johnson won the heat races.

Robert Freshour weathered several cautions for a wire to wire win in the Advance Auto Parts Limited Late Models. Bobby Castelveter was second, Tonly Musolino third, Mike Morgan fourth and Pete Loria fifth. Completing the top ten were: Jon Hodgkiss, Neal Isiminger, Danny Rich, Jim Stephans and Kirk Young. Loria, who started twelfth, was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Young and Rich Apolito captured the preliminaries.

After passing J. J. Bametzrieder for the lead on the fourth lap of the E-Modified feature, Ralph Hysong Jr. left no doubt in taking the impressive victory. Bametzrieder, Russ Matejka, Chuck Kennedy and Bruce Dreistadt were second through fifth respectively. Sixth through tenth were: Scott Gunn, John Myrgo, Vince Laboon, Andy Diamond and Wayne Tessean. Larry Kugel, who had won the first three races of the season, was eliminated after a brake line broke, and he hit the first turn wall. Kennedy was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Matejka and Gunn won the heat races.

Dave Beck drove the race of his life in the Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks. The local driver led all fifteen laps for his first career feature win. Veteran Ron O'Patchin ended his retirement to get second. Logan Dernoshek, (subbing for Mike McKee in car #33) finished third. Doug Foster was fourth and Darryl Robison fifth. Frankie Schneider took sixth, Brian Scheller seventh, Kenny Isiminger eighth, A. J. Poljak ninth, and Monarch Oil Hard Charger - Shawn Bryan, tenth. Heat race wins went to Foster and Stacie White.

Joel Johns appeared to have the Amateur Stock feature in the bag until he had to avoid a spinning car with less than three laps to go. As Johns and the second place car of Ian Tomei used evasive action to miss the spinning Gabe Hahka, Schwartzmiller jumped from third to first and never looked back on his way to victory lane. Bill Robertson finished second, Tomei third, Davey Lee fourth and Aaron Fraser was fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Tony Capo, Joshua Langer, Rocky Kugel, Eric Molyneaux, and Mike Palmer. Robertson and Monarch Oil Hard Charger - Capo won the heat races.

Robbie Haught outlasted Rod Pattison and Dave Chapman Jr to win the first Demolition Derby of the season.

This Saturday, June 1st, regular racing continues for the QPI Tools Late Models, Advance Auto Parts Limited Late Models, E-Modifieds, Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks and Amateur Stocks. The Zoresco Senior Series have been rescheduled for this Saturday to make up their event that was lost to rain back on May 11. It's also Little League/Scout night with all youngsters wearing a Little League or Scout top admitted free. Gates open at 5:30 pm with racing at 7:30. For more information, call 724-853-RACE or visit our web site at


QPI TOOLS LATE MODELS - (25 Laps) 1) John Flinner, 2) D.J. Miller, 3) Al Atallah, 4) George Kowatic, 5) Mike Cecere, 6) Lou Bradich, 7) Dave Wade, 8) Jim Zarin, 9) Ben Miley, 10) Mike Johnson, 11) Alex Ferree, 12) Ed Ferree, 13) Mark Moats, 14) Rody Exposito, 15) Bill Adler, 16) Brian Laraway, 17) Kenny Schaltenbrand, 18) Mike Martini, 19) Gary Swiger, 20) Dave Johnson, 21) Jim Arcuragi, 22) Steve Baker (DNS)

ADVANCE AUTO PARTS LIMITED LATE MODELS (20 Laps) 1) Bob Freshour, 2) Bobby Castelveter, 3) Tony Musolino, 4) Mike Morgan, 5) Pete Loria, 6) Jon Hodgkiss, 7) Neal Isiminger, 8) Danny Rich, 9) Jim Stephans, 10) Kirk Young, 11) Tom Schirnhofer, 12) Rich Apolito, 13) Jessie Burroughs, 14) Tom Duratz, 15) Scott Adamson, 16) Tony Sinicrope, 17) Bryan Jenks, 18) Ron Williams

E-MODIFIEDS (15 Laps) 1) Ralph Hysong Jr., 2) J. J. Bametzrieder, 3) Russ Matejka, 4) Chuck Kennedy, 5) Bruce Dreistadt, 6) Scott Gunn, 7) John Myrgo, 8) Vince Laboon, 9) Andy Diamond, 10) Wayne Tessean, 11) Ken Monseau, 12) Joe Brown, 13) Jeff Broniszewski, 14) Larry Kugel, 15) Dale Charlier

ISIMINGER'S PENNZOIL PURE STOCKS: (15 Laps) 1) Dave Beck, 2) Ron O'Patchin, 3) Logan Dernoshek, 4) Doug Foster, 5) Darryl Robison, 6) Frankie Schneider, 7) Brian Scheller, 8) Kenny Isiminger, 9) AJ Poljak, 10) Shawn Bryan, 11) Stacie White, 12) Bob Betz, 13) Wayne Johnson, 14) John Cain, 15) Joe Anthony, 16) Joe Hackimer, 17) Eric Betz, 18) Craig Kamicker, 19) Greg McMannus, 20) Jason Simmons, 21) Jimmy Martin, 22) Jason Cooper (DNS)

AMATEUR STOCKS (12 Laps) 1) Bob Schwartzmiller, 2) Bill Robertson, 3) Ian Tomei, 4) Davy Lee, 5) Aaron Fraser, 6) Tony Capo, 7) Joshua Langer, 8) Rocky Kugel, 9) Eric Molyneaux, 10) Mike Palmer, 11) Kenny Bratt, 12) Ken Puglisi, 13) Joel Johns, 14) Gabe Hahka, 15) Randy Sprouse, 16) Glenn Knopp Jr.., 17) Ted Beaver

Back to the Archives