Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Deery Series set for March 30 opener at Webster City
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted March 13, 2002 06:47 PM UIN: 16262997
Deery Series set for March 30 opener at Webster City
WEBSTER CITY, Iowa (March 13) - For the third consecutive season, the Deery Brothers Summer Series will open at Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City.
The 16th annual tour for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Late Models gets underway Saturday, March 30 at the Al Uhrhammer-pro-moted track. Pit gates open at 1 p.m., with hot laps at 4 p.m. and racing set for 5 p.m.
Grandstands open at 3 p.m.
Rob Toland of Hillsdale, Ill., won the opener at Webster City in 2000 and Mike Smith of Jewell paced the first event last season.
Hamilton County Speedway has hosted 19 previous series events since the inaugural 1987 season. The most recent, and the most frequent, Deery winner there has been Jeff Aikey.
Aikey, from Cedar Falls, chalked up his fifth career series victory at the Webster City track last July 26. The four-time Deery champion leads all drivers with 39 career series wins.
The defending series champion is Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill. He won three out of the last five races and four times overall.
Runner-up Jason Friesen of Sutton, Neb., was one of four Deery drivers winning for the first time in 2001. Tommy Elston of Keokuk, Jeremiah Hurst of Dubuque and Winston Cup regular Ken Schrader were also first-time winners on the circuit last season.
Darrel DeFrance of Marshalltown was fifth in the points race last year and has yet to miss a series event, extending his consecutive string to 224.
Fourteen races are on the 2002 series schedule. All pay a minimum of $2,000 to win.
Next up is the Saturday, April 6 date at 34 Raceway in West Burlington.
Two more series events, on Friday, April 19 at Davenport Speedway and Saturday, April 20 at Jackson County Speedway in Maquoketa, are on tap before the regular I.M.C.A. point season for Late Models begins on April 26.

Deery Brothers Summer Series
for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Late Models
Date Site
Saturday, March 30 Hamilton County Speedway, Webster City, Iowa
Saturday, April 6 34 Raceway, West Burlington, Iowa
Friday, April 19 Davenport, Iowa, Speedway
Saturday, April 20 Jackson County Speedway, Maquoketa, Iowa
Monday, May 27 Boone, Iowa, Speedway
Wednesday, July 3 Quincy, Ill., Raceway
Thursday, July 4 34 Raceway, West Burlington, Iowa
Tuesday, July 9 Hawkeye Downs, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Thursday, July 25 Hamilton County Speedway, Webster City, Iowa
Tuesday, Aug. 13 Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway, Des Moines
Wed. & Thurs., Aug. 14-15 34 Raceway, West Burlington, Iowa
Sunday, Sept. 1 Quincy, Ill., Raceway
Monday, Sept. 2 Boone, Iowa, Speedway
Thursday, Sept. 12 Farley, Iowa, Speedway

2001 Top 20 Point Standings - 1. Mark Burgtorf, Quincy, Ill.; 616; 2. Jason Friesen, Sutton, Neb.; 600; 3. Gary Rus-sell, Biggsville, Ill., 536; 4. Mike Smith, Jewell, Iowa, 474; 5. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, Iowa, 458; 6. Terry Ryan, Davenport, Iowa, 452; 7. Brenton Slocum, Burlington, Iowa, 442; 8. Tom Darbyshire, Morning Sun, Iowa, 432; 9. Rob Toland, Hillsdale, Ill., 416; 10. Boone McLaughlin, Mediapolis, Iowa, 376; 11. Mike Cothron, Moline, Ill., 348; 12. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, Iowa, 326; 13. Tommy Elston, Keokuk, Iowa, and Chris Smyser, Lancaster, Mo., both 306; 15. Terry Schlipman, Mendon, Ill., 276; 16. Brad Osborn, Janesville, Iowa, 272; 17. Dale Stolte, Springville, Iowa, 260; 18. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, Iowa, 238; 19. David Schrader, Monroe, Iowa, 202; 20. Bill Tuckwell, Washington, Ill., 194.

Back to the Archives