Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Mid-America Modified Championship at Batesville Results
Dirt Freak

Total posts: 295
posted March 22, 2003 02:07 PM
8th Annual TCI Automotive Mid-America Modified Championship
Round 1 Qualifying, Friday March 21
by Larry Olson; Mountain Home, AR

LOCUST GROVE AR. Local favorite, Brandon Smith held off a all-star field of Modified drivers, topping the first round of qualifying for the 8th Annual TCI Automotive Mid-America Modified Championship. Smith was the polesitter for the event, and led all 25 laps, but had to hold off Jimmy Owens early, and Mark Noble as the laps wore down to secure the win.

Smith moved to the lead as the green flag appeared, with Tony Anglin, Owens, Kevin Salter, and Noble giving chase. Noble moved past Salter on the second lap, gaining fourth, but a hard crash in turn one red flagged the event on lap 2. Wendell Wallace and Cliff Carter got together going into one, and Carter got upside down in the melle. Both drivers were ok, but neither continued.

Noble continued to advance, past Anglin for 3rd in turn two on the third lap. Salter moved past Anglin for fourth, then Kelly Shryock took over fifth on the backstretch on lap six.

Owens, Noble, and Salter went three wide for the second spot on lap 10, then Noble and Salter moved into side by side formation, shuffeling Owens back to fourth on the next lap. Shryock picked up fourth, past Owens, on the backstretch on lap 12.

Noble was starting to pressure Smith for the lead on lap 16. Defending race champion, Mark Norris took the fifth spot from Owens in turn two on lap 17. Kevin Salter got his car badly out of shape on lap 18, allowing both Norris and Shryock to get by. Noble continued to pressure Smith as the laps wore down, but could not overcome Smith.

Brandon Smith, Mark Noble, Mark Norris, Kelly Shryock, and Kevin Salter made up the top five. Jimmy Owens, Richie Tosh, and Jason Hughes of Colcord, Oklahoma claimed the final three transfer spots.

Qualifying Feature (25 Laps, 8 transfer) 1) Brandon Smith 2) Mark Noble 3) Mark Norris 4) Kelly Shryock 5) Kevin Salter 6) Jimmy Owens 7) Richie Tosh 8) Jason Hughes 9) Jon Tesch 10) Jon Vandenberg 11) Justin Boney 12) Ron Jones 13) Tony Anglin 14) Mike Marler 15) Tommy Myer 16) Wayne Brooks 17) Johnny Bone Jr. 18) Brent Glastetter 19) John Logue 20) Randy Todd 21) John Whittington 22) Eddie Martin 23) Cliff Carter 24) Wendell Wallace

1st Heat (20 Laps, three transfer) 1) Brandon Smith, Floral AR 2) Richie Tosh, Salado AR 3) Mike Marler, Winfield TN 4) Gary Clark, Walker MO 5) Alvin Maple, Batesville AR 6) Billy Moyer, Batesville AR 7) Ronnie Jeffrey, Locust Grove AR 8) Brandon Maxwell, Milan TN 9) Micah Gavin, Oil Trough AR 10) Jason Meadors, Fordland MO 11) Rex Merritt, Clever MO 12) Jesse Cordell, Newport AR 13) Kevin Conway, Bald Knob AR 14) Don Kiger, Oakwood IL 15) Justin Ingalls, Longview TX

2nd Heat 1) Tony Anglin, Hoxie AR 2) Randy Todd, Lexington TN 3) John Whittington, Vidoc TX 4) Danny Resinger, Farmington MO 5) Jason Hughes, West Plains MO 6) Eric Hickerson, Lobelville TN 7) Buddy Parks, Marshall AR 8) Jason Krohn, Slayton MN 9) Scotty Allen, Wheatland MO 10) Keith Pittman, Sibley LA 11) Tommy Porter, Ola AR 12) Jim Roach, Urbana MO 13) Jeremy Greenway, Luray TN 14) Jerry Young, Blooming Prairie MN 15) Jeff Taylor, Batesville AR

3rd Heat 1) Kevin Salter, Desha AR 2) Jason Hughes, Colcord OK 3) Jon Vandenberg, Oskaloosa IA 4) Donnie Barnhart, North Little Rock AR 5) Claudie Cook, Portageville MO 6) Peyton Taylor, Batesville AR 7) Robby Arnold, Paragould AR 8) Trent Follmer, Elk River MN 9) Curt Barnett, El Paso TX 10) Troy Godwin, Mesquite NM 11) Mike Harding, Lowell MI 12) Robbie McClain, Hot Springs AR 13) Paul Taylor, Nevada MO 14) Klint Pursley, Locust Grove OK 15) B.J. Robinson, Shreveport LA

4th Heat 1) Jimmy Owens, Newport TN 2) Mark Norris, Clinton AR 3) Eddie Martin, Stillwell OK 4) Ryan Ruter, Kanawha IA 5) Brian Mullen, Seymore WI 6) Bart Richardson, Bradford TN 7) Clay Collett, Parsons TN 8) Scott Duvall, Bloomer WI 9) Jerry Thompson, Ft. Smith AR 10) David Mitchell, Ashdown AR 11) Skeet Amason, New Boston TX 12) Neal Neisler, Loveland CO 13) Donnie Powers, Henderson TX 14) Jack Sullivan, Greenbriar AR 15) Bud Collett, Parsons TN

5th Heat 1) Jon Tesch, Watertown SD 2) Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie MN 3) Cliff Carter, West Memphis AR 4) Kenny Gaddis, Hallsville TX 5) Billy Melton, Longview TX 6) Brad Qualls, Pleasantville TN 7) Craig Scott, Rosemount MN 8) Corey Dipps, Cedar Falls IA 9) Greg Waugh, Batesville AR 10) Robert Powers, Campbell MO 11) Jeremy Payne, Tuscon AZ 12) Brantlee Gotschall, Nevada MO 13) Jason Davis, Luray TN 14) Jamie Elam, Nesbit MS 15) Kyle Myers, Oconto Falls WI

6th Heat 1) Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie MN 2) John Logue, Boone IA 3) Brent Glastetter, Mooresville NC 4) Randy Zimmerman, Ft. Scott KS 5) Ronnie Vernon, Friendship TN 6) Jason Wilkey, Batesville AR 7) Brian Ritchie, Newark AR 8) Michael Robertson, Minden LA 9) Shawn Blees, Mountain Pine AR 10) Matt Sturch, Cabot AR 11) Todd Dart, Alcoma WI 12) Jason Alexander, Parsons TN 13) Lindsey Shields, Hallsville TX 14) Jason Nordhougen, St. Paul Park MN

7th Heat 1) Justin Boney, Desoto KS 2) Wayne Brooks, Bald Knob AR 3) Johnny Bone Jr., Pea Ridge AR 4) Chuck McGinty, Conway AR 5) Mike Mashl, Depere WI 6) Shawn Walsh, Ash Flat AR 7) Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon IA 8) Jared Wagster, Portageville MO 9) Jared Landers, Little Rock AR 10) Greg Hughes, West Plains MO 11) Jerry Hoffman, Oronogo MO 12) Brian Kuhn, Hernando MS 13) Ross Chmpenova, Clarksdale MS 14) Jeff Richardson, West Memphis AR

8th Heat 1) Kelly Shryock, Forest City IA 2) Ron Jones, Zimmerman MN 3) Wendell Wallace, Batesville AR 4) Jay Jenkins, Clinton AR 5) Jerry Waugh, Batesville AR 6) Eric Turner, Hermatage MO 7) Larry Campbell, Van Buren AR 8) David Baser, Jacksonville AR 9) Scott Drake, Webb City MO 10) Chris Hickerson, Lobelville TN 11) Ryan Fisk, Lowell MI 12) Dean Resinger, Farmington MO 13) Mike Bowers, North Little Rock AR

Dirt Freak

Total posts: 295
posted March 22, 2003 02:12 PM
Congratulations to Brandon!

Back to the Archives