Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Saathoff Rounds Up top finish at Lincoln County special
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 5556
posted April 08, 2002 04:16 PM UIN: 16262997
Saathoff Rounds Up top finish at Lincoln County special
By Darin Racek
NORTH PLATTE, Neb. (April 7) Š When the last lap of the first annual Spring Roundup was completed, the driver rounding up top money was Johnny Saathoff.
Saathoff lassoed the $2,500 I.M.C.A. Sunoco Modified victory at Lincoln County Raceway in front of Kevin Larkins and Ronnie Wallace, as the trio repeated its 1-2-3 finish from Spring Nationals at Beatrice. David Thome was fourth.
The 24-car, 40-lap feature had to be completely re-started after Davids Murray and Trauernicht tangled in corner no. four, leaving TrauernichtÕs rear sheet metal seriously damaged. The two would have to re-start the race in row 12.
Wallace took the early lead, closely pursued by Larkins and Saathoff. Larkins was able to work around Wallace, but had the spot taken away after a red came out for a four car pileup on the fourth lap.
The re-start saw another tangle, but once racing resumed, the yellow flag was not seen again. Wallace, Larkins and Saathoff put a tremendous fight for the lead for several laps, with Larkins and Saathoff finally getting by on lap 11.
LarkinsÕ high groove racing allowed Saathoff clean sailing on the bottom of the track and he took the lead away by the next circuit. Saathoff did not find any lapped traffic until lap 25, but was able to put several cars between himself and Larkins to jet away to a win by a comfortable margin.
Wallace held onto third place, followed by Thome. Trauernicht hooked up on the track to drive up to a fifth place fin-ish.
Top three in the pole dash were Wallace, Murray and Trauernicht.
Promoted by the Lincoln County Agriculture Society, the Spring Roundup saw 45 competitors from five states vie for starting spots in the main event at North Platte.
Feature Results
1. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice; 2. Kevin Larkins, Greenwood; 3. Ronnie Wallace, North Platte; 4. David Thome, Spalding; 5. David Trauernicht, Beatrice; 6. Jay Steffens, North Platte; 7. T. J. Artz, Lincoln; 8. David Murray, Oberlin, Kan.; 9. Chris Johnson, Lead, S.D.; 10. Doug Holzmeister, Colby, Kan.; 11. Dave Pedersen, Maxwell; 12. Jeremy Eatherton, Gibbon; 13. Monty Nordyke, Holly, Colo.; 14. Dan Carl, North Platte; 15. Jim Mlady, North Platte; 16. Kenny McCarty, North Platte; 17. Andrew Dillenburg, North Platte; 18. Aaron White, Plainview; 19. Chad Dolan, Overton; 20. Gary Dechant, North Glenn, Colo.; 21. Brian Taylor, Hastings; 22. Troy Bayne, North Platte; 23. Vince Leibert, Lexington; 24. Robert Brinkman, Papillion.

Back to the Archives